

432 SE 12th Street | PO Box 248 Madison, SD 57042 (800) 520-4746 | heartlandenergy.com

December 19, 2023

Monae L. Jahn

SECRETARY OF STATE

RECEIVED

DEC 2 1 2023

SD Secretary of State

Ms. Monae L. Johnson

Secretary of State

500 E. Capitol Avenue Ste 204

Pierre, SD 57501-5077

Re: Heartland Consumers Power District dba Heartland Energy

Dear Ms. Johnson:

Pursuant to SDCL 49-36-3, it is necessary that we certify to you each biennium the names of the District's directors and the counties, municipalities and election precincts that comprise the District. I first call to your attention that the District does not include any municipalities except those that have been specifically accepted into the District. At the present time, the only municipalities that are included in the District are Plankinton which is included in Subdivision No. 7; and Volga, Madison, Groton, all of which are included in Subdivision No. 10; and Arlington, Howard and Miller, all of which are included in Subdivision No. 11. I also call to your attention that the District does not include any part of the rural area of any of such counties listed below which is within a voting precinct that is partly in such rural area and partly within a municipality.

Therefore, I hereby certify that the names of the Directors and the counties, municipalities and election precincts that presently comprise the District are as follows:

Subdivision No. 1:

Mark Joffer - Bon Homme County; Douglas County; Hanson County; Hutchinson County, excluding the townships of Cross Plains and Capital; McCook County; and Turner County, excluding the townships of Germantown, Middleton, Dolton, and Monroe; and Wellington township of Minnehaha County.

Subdivision No. 2: Patrick Anderson - Clay County; Union County, excluding the townships of Prairie, Alcester, Virginia, Emmet, Big Springs, Spink, Sioux Valley and Brule; and Yankton County.

Ms. Monae L Johnson

December 18, 2023

Page Two

Subdivision No. 3:

<u>Larry Nielson</u> — Brown County, excluding the townships of Palmyra, Osceola, Savo, Liberty, Allison, Frederick, Richland, Greenfield, Franklin, Oneota, Brainard, Carlisle, Westport, Garland, West Rondell, East Rondell, Claremont and Columbia; Buffalo County; Hand County, excluding the townships of Ree Heights, St. Lawrence and Miller; Hyde County; Jerauld County, excluding the townships of Alpena and Franklin; and Spink County, excluding the townships of Jefferson, Tetonka, LaPrairie, Conde, Olean, Frankfort, Mellette, Northville, Tulare, Turton and Sumner.

- Subdivision No. 4:
- <u>Lee Ann Wheeler</u> Lincoln County, Split Rock township of Minnehaha County, the townships of Prairie, Alcester, Virginia, Emmet, Big Springs, Spink, Sioux Valley and Brule in Union County.
- Subdivision No. 5:
- <u>Dave Hahler</u> Day County, excluding the townships of Grenville, Andover, Union, Rariton, Butler, Bristol, York and Highland; Grant County, excluding the townships of Adams, Osceola, Stockholm, Georgia, Twin Brooks and Troy; Marshall County; and Roberts County.
- Subdivision No. 6:
- <u>Jeff Heinemeyer</u> Beadle County; Clark County, excluding the township of Foxton; Kingsbury County, excluding the townships of Denver, Esmond, Hartland, LeSueur and Badger; Lake County; and Moody County excluding Lynn, Enterprise, Blinsmon, and Alliance townships.
- Subdivision No. 7:
- <u>Vern Hill</u> Aurora County; Brule County, excluding the townships of Pukwana, Cleveland, Smith and Red Lake; Charles Mix County, excluding the townships of Lone Tree and Plain Center; Davison County; Miner County, excluding the townships of Canova, Roswell, and Howard; and Sanborn County; and the territory inside the corporate limits of the municipality of Plankinton, South Dakota.
- Subdivision No. 8: <u>Lisa Rave</u> Minnehaha County, excluding the townships of Split Rock and Wellington; the townships of Lynn, Enterprise, Blinsmon, and Alliance in Moody County.

Ms. Monae L Johnson

December 18, 2023

Page Three

Subdivision No. 9:

Roger Fritz – Brookings County, excluding the townships of Alton, Elkton, and Lake Sinai; Codington County, excluding the townships of Kranzburg and Leola; Deuel County, excluding the townships of Goodwin, Altamont, and Scandinavia; and Hamlin County, excluding the townships of Garfield, Castlewood, Hayti, Brantford and Lake Norden.

Subdivision No. 10:

<u>Donna Fawbush</u> – territory inside the corporate limits of the municipalities

of Volga, Madison, and Groton, South Dakota.

Subdivision No. 11:

<u>Bill Lewellen</u> – territory inside the corporate limits of the municipalities of Arlington, Howard, and Miller, South Dakota.

As the term of each member of the Board of Directors expires, the directors are to be nominated and elected from the subdivision in which they are an elector and not from the District at large.

The six-year renewal terms of the directors representing Subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 10 expire December 31, 2024. This means Mark Joffer (representing Subdivision No.1), Pat Anderson (representing Subdivision No. 2), Larry Nielson (representing Subdivision No. 3) and Donna Fawbush (representing Subdivision No. 10) are eligible for re-election if they choose to run again. Other candidates, of course, may seek nomination and election in one or more of those subdivisions. Suzanne Frentz (representing Subdivision 8) was appointed in 2023 and will have to run for re-election.

Subscribed and sworn to

before me this 19th

day of December 2023.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Heinemeyer

Secretary

Notary Public, South Dakota

My commission expires: 10-27-28

