INITIATIVE PETITION

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED qualified voters of the state of South Dakota, petition that the following proposed law be submitted to the voters of

the state of South Dakota at the general election on November 4, 2014, for their approval or rejection pursuant to the Censtitution of the
State of South Dakota,

Title: An initiated measure to increase the state minimum wage.
Attorney General Explanation:

The initiated measure amends state law to raise South Dakota's hourly minimum wage for non-tipped employees from $7.25 to $8.50 per
hour, effective January 1, 2015. Thereafter, this minimum wape will be annually adjusted by any increase in the cost of living. The cost of
living increase is measured by the change in the Consumer Price Index published by the U.S. Department of Labor. In no case may the
minimum wage be decreased. In addition, the hourly minimum wage for tipped employees will be half the minimum wage for non-tipped

employees as adjusted by any cost of living increase described above. These increases would apply to all employers in South Dakota, with
limited exceptions,

The text of the proposed law is as follows:

Section 1. That § 60-11-3 be amended to read as follows:

60-11-3. Every employer shall pay to each employee wages at a rate of not less than sevon eight dollars and twersp-flve fifty cents an haur. Violation of this section is a
Class 2 misdemeanor. The provisions of this section do ot apply to certain employees being paid an opportunity wage pursuant to § 60-11-4.1, babysitters, or outside

salespersans, The provisions of this section also do not apply to employees employed by an amusement or recreational establishment, an organized camp, or a religious
or nonprofit educational conference center if one of the following apply:

(1) The establishment, camp, or center does not operate for more than seven months in any calendar year; or

(2) During the preceding calendar year, the average receipts of the establishment, camp, or center for any six months of the calendar year were not more than
thirty-three and one-third percent of its average receipts for the other six months of the year.

Section 2. That § 60-11-3.1 be amended to read as follows:
60-11-3.1. Any employer of a tipped employee shall pay a cash wage of not less than #wo-dollarsand-thirieen-cents-an-heus fifty percent of the minimum wage provided

by § 60-11-3 if the employer claims a tip credit agatnst the employer's minimum wage cbligation. If an employee's tips combined with the emplayer's cash wage of not
less than twe-delars-and-thirteen-contsanhous fifty percent of the minimum wage provided by § 60-11-3 do not equal the minimum keurly wage, the employer shall
make up the difference as additional wages for each regular pay period of the employer. A tipped employee is one engaged in an occupatlon in which the employee
customarily and regularly receives more than thirty-five dollars a month in tips or other considerations. This section does not apply to babysitters or outside

salespersons. This section also does not apply to employees employed by an amusement or recreational establishment, an organized camp, or a religious or nonprefit
educational conference center if one of the following apply:

1) The establishment, camp, or center does not operate for more than seven months in any calendar year; or

{2) During the preceding calendar year, the average receipts of the establishment, camp, or center for any six months of the calendar year were not more than
thirty-three and one-third percent of its average receipts forthe other six months of the year.

Section 3. That chapter 60-11 be amended by adding thereto a NEW SECTION to read as follows:

Beginning January 1, 2016, and again on January 1 of each year thereafter, the minimum wage provided by § 60-11-3 shall be adjusted by the increase, if any, In the cost
of living, The increase in the cost of living shall be measured by the percentage increase as of August of the immediately preceding year over the level as measured as of
August of the previous year of the Consumer Price Index (all urban consumers, U.5. city average for all items) or its successor index as published by the U.S, Department
of Labor or its successor agency, with the amount of the minimum wage increase, if any, rounded up to the nearest five cents. In na case shall the minimum wage be
decreased, The Secretary of the South Dakata Department of Labor and Regutation or its designee shall publish the adjusted minimum wage rate for the forthcoming
year on its internet home page by October 15 of each year, and it shall become effective on January 1 of the forthcoming year.

Sectlon 4. The provisions of Section 1 and Section 2 of this Act are effective January 1, 2015.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF SOUTH DAKOTA.

INSTRUCTIONS TO SIGNERS:

1. Signers of this petition must individually sign their names in the form in which they are registered to vote or as they usually sign their names.

2. Before the petition is filed, each signer ar the circulator must add the residence address of the signer and the date of signing. If the signer is a resident of a second
or third class municipality, a post office bax may be used for the residence address.

3, Before the petition is filed, each signer or the circulator must print the name of the signer in the space provided and add the county of voter registration.

4. Abbreviations of common usage may be used. Ditto marks may not be used.

5. Failure to provide all information requested may invalidate the signature,
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