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Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol

A Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol may be obtained from the sheriff of
the county of which the applicant is a resident. South Dakota residents
and nonresidents who may lawfully possess a pistol are not required to
have a permit in order to carry a concealed pistol in this state (SDCL 23-7
7).

e Regular Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $10.00 (SDCL 23-
7-8.2).

e Enhanced Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $100.00 (SDCL
23-7-53; SDCL 23-7-55)

e Gold Card Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $70.00 (SDCL
23-7-60; SDCL 23-7-63)

The applicant must complete a form called an Application and Temporary
Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol. The information required for the per-
mit includes (SDCL 23-7-8; SDCL 23-7-53; SDCL 23-7-60): the appli-
cant's complete name, address, occupation, place and date of birth, coun-
try of citizenship, alien identification number if not a U.S. citizen, physi-
cal description, a statement that the applicant has never pled guilty to, no-
lo contendere to, or been convicted of a crime of violence, a sworn state-
ment that the information on the application is true and correct, and the
applicant's signature.

Providing false information or false evidence of identity in applying for a
permit to carry a concealed pistol is a Class 6 felony punishable by two
years imprisonment, a fine of four thousand dollars, or both (SDCL 23-7-
12).

Upon the expiration of a permit to carry a concealed pistol, the permit
holder has a sixty-day grace period to renew the permit (SDCL 23-7-
8.13).

Law enforcement may periodically perform a National Instant Criminal
Background Check (NICS) of Gold Card or Enhanced Permit holders for
the purposes of determining whether the permit holder remains eligible for
the permit (SDCL 23-7-68).



Sample Pistol Permit

Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit

Regular Concealed Carry Permit

PERMIT NO. 123456729101112 ISSUED: 04/27/2016
DOB: 01/01/1998 DIPIRES: 04/27/2021

JOHN JULIUS JONES, JR
1234 ANYWHERE ST.
SOMEWHERE, SD 57000

HEIGHT: 6&/2 HAIR: BROWN
WEIGHT: 200 EYES: BROWN

The person issued this

permit is entitled to carry

a concealed pistol anywhere in
South Dakota except where
prohibited by law. This permit is
not transferable.

%W

Steve Barnett

Secretary of State



STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA [ Regutar [JGoldcarda [ enhanced

Application and Temporary I New [ en
Permit to Carry Concealed Pistol

Restricted 18 to 20

Name

Last First Middie

Physical Address

Mailing Address,

(i different from physical address)
Driver’s License/ID Number

Weight Height
(feet /inches)
Date of Birth / /.
MNI/DD/YYYY)
Country of Citi:

I certify that | am the applicant described and tha o ation is true and correct. | further certify that | have never pled guilty to,
nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a crif e
been examined by me, and to the best of my

Date

The official permit to carry a

the above address within 30 Sheriff's Slgnature

(Not valid until approved and signed by the Sherif)
County Date

(Must be dated)
Regular Permit Fee $10  Regular Permit  Gold Card Permit Enhanced Permit
Gold Card Permit Fee $70  DCI Check:Yes No  Fingerprint Check: Yes No  Fingerprint Check: Yes No
Enhanced Permit Fee $100 (Please circle Yes or No) Training: Yes No

Steve Barnett,
Secretary of St

The applicant must also meet the following requirements (SDCL 23-7-
7.1):

e s eighteen years of age or older;

e Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of
a felony or a crime of violence;

e Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition;
e Has no history of violence;

e Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger to
others" or a "danger to self" as defined in § 27A-1-1 or is not cur-
rently adjudged mentally incompetent;

e Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the
application is being made for at least thirty days immediately pre-
ceding the date of the application;

e Has had no violations of chapter § 23-7, 22-14, or 22-42 constitut-
ing a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date
of application or is not currently charged under indictment or in-
formation for such an offense;

e s acitizen or legal resident of the United States; and

e Is not a fugitive from justice.




Additional ENHANCED Permit Requirements
The application shall include (SDCL 23-7-53):

The application for the optional enhanced permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol;

A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Feder-
al Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity
authorized to receive such information, for a state, national, and
international criminal history background check;

An authorization to run a fingerprint background check;

A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint
background check;

A separate application fee of one hundred dollars for the optional
permit to carry a concealed pistol; and

Proof that the applicant has successfully completed a qualifying
handgun course as defined in SDCL 23-7-58. Qualifying handgun
course must include instruction in each of the following:

O South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force;

¢ The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of hand-
guns;

¢ Self-defense principles; and

¢ Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight
rounds of ammunition by the student.

The sheriff has five days from the date of application in which to issue the
temporary permit (SDCL 23-7-7.1).Within seven days after the temporary
permit has been issued, the sheriff sends a copy of the application to the
secretary of state who issues the official permit (SDCL 23-7-8).

The permit is valid throughout South Dakota except in the following: any
licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage establishment that
derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of malt or alcoholic
beverages (SDCL 23-7-70); any county courthouse as defined in SDCL 22
-14-22 (SDCL 12-14-23); or any elementary or secondary schools (SDCL
13-32-7). The permit is not transferable from one person to another (SDCL
23-7-8.3).



Reciprocity

Pursuant to SDCL 23-7-7.3 the Secretary of State has assigned reciprocity
agreements for concealed weapons permits with a number of states.

§ 23-7-7.3 Reciprocity with other states-Conditions. The attorney
general shall compare South Dakota permit issuance statutes with the per-
mit issuance statutes in states with which reciprocity is sought or requested
in order to determine whether the laws of the other state meet or exceed
the requirements of this chapter for the issuance of a permit. The secretary
of state may enter into reciprocity agreements with other states after the
attorney general has notified the secretary of state that the other states'
laws meet or exceed the provisions of this chapter.

Recognition

The state of South Dakota recognizes any valid concealed pistol permit
issued to a nonresident of South Dakota, according to the terms of its
issuance in the state of its issue.

§ 23-7-7.4. Nonresident permit to carry concealed pistol valid in
South Dakota-Permit not required. Any valid permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol, issued to a nonresident of South Dakota, is valid in South
Dakota according to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue, but
only to the extent that the terms of issuance comply with any appropriate
South Dakota statute or promulgated rule. This section does not require a
nonresident of this state who may lawfully possess a pistol to have a per-
mit in order to carry a concealed pistol in this state.

The current reciprocity or recognition status of states is located at
www.sdsos.gov.

Purchase of a Firearm
Federal Requirements

Anyone purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must com-
plete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms form 4473 (firearms trans-
action form). This form will be maintained by the dealer.

A firearms purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal
Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check
System (NICS) check, which will be performed by the firearms dealer.
The check will indicate to the dealer whether or not the purchaser's back-
ground allows for the person to actually complete the purchase of the fire-
arm. If the check disallows the sale for no warranted reason, there is an
appeals process the purchaser can pursue to receive the necessary clear-
ance to complete the purchase.

For questions regarding federal regulations, please contact the Regulatory
Office of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, St. Paul, MN,
(651) 726-0220.


https://sdsos.gov/general-services/concealed-pistol-permits/map.aspx

Statutory Provisions
Repealed Sections are Omitted
Chapter 22-1

Definitions and General Provisions

§ 22-1-2. Definition of terms. Terms used in this title mean:
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(11

through (3) Omitted.

"Antique firearm," any firearm, including any firearm with a
matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition
system, manufactured before 1899, and any replica of any firearm
described in this section if such replica is not designed or rede-
signed for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammuni-
tion or if it uses rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammuni-
tion which is no longer manufactured in the United States and
which is not readily available in the ordinary channels of commer-
cial trade;

Omitted.

"Concealed," any firearm that is totally hidden from view. If any
part of the firearm is capable of being seen, it is not concealed;

Omitted.

"Controlled weapon" includes any firearm silencer, machine gun,
or short shotgun, as those terms are defined in subdivisions (17),
(23), and (46) of this section;

"Crime of violence," any of the following crimes or an attempt to
commit, or a conspiracy to commit, or a solicitation to commit
any of the following crimes: murder, manslaughter, rape, aggra-
vated assault, riot, robbery, burglary in the first degree, arson,
kidnapping, felony sexual contact as defined in § 22-22-7, felony
child abuse as defined in § 26-10-1, or any other felony in the
commission of which the perpetrator used force, or was armed
with a dangerous weapon, or used any explosive or destructive
device;

"Dangerous weapon" or "deadly weapon," any firearm, stun gun,
knife, or device, instrument, material, or substance, whether ani-
mate or inanimate, which is calculated or designed to inflict death
or serious bodily harm, or by the manner in which it is used is
likely to inflict death or serious bodily harm;

through (15) Omitted.



(16)

(17

(18)
21

(22)

(23)

24
(32)

(33)
(44)
(44A)
(45)
(46)

(47)

"Firearm," any weapon from which a projectile or projectiles may
be discharged by gunpowder. As used in this subdivision, the
term, gunpowder, includes any propellant that upon oxidization
emits heat and light and is commonly used in firearms cartridges;

"Firearm silencer," any instrument, attachment, weapon or
appliance for causing the firing of any gun, revolver, pistol, or
other firearm to be silent, or intended to lessen or muffle the noise
of the firing of any such weapon;

through (20) Omitted.

"Intoxication," a disturbance of mental or physical capacities re-
sulting from the introduction of substances into the body. Intoxi-
cation is not, in itself, a mental disease or defect;

"Law enforcement officer," any officer, prosecutor, or

employee of the state or any of its political subdivisions or of the
United States, or, while on duty, an agent or employee of a rail-
road or express company or security personnel of an airline or
airport, who is responsible for the prevention, detection, or prose-
cution of crimes, for the enforcement of the criminal or highway
traffic laws of the state, or for the supervision of confined persons
or those persons on supervised release or probation;

"Machine gun," any firearm, whatever its size and usual
designation, that automatically discharges two or more
cartridges by a single function of the firing device;

through (31) Omitted.

"Pistol," any firearm with a barrel less than sixteen inches in
length, designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action
of an explosive;

through (43) Omitted.

"Seller," any person or employee engaged in the business of sell-
ing pistols at retail;

"Serious bodily injury," such injury as is grave and not trivial, and
gives rise to apprehension of danger to life, health, or limb.

"Short rifle," any rifle having a barrel less than sixteen inches
long, or an overall length of less than twenty-six inches;

"Short shotgun," any shotgun having a barrel less than eighteen
inches long or an overall length of less than twenty-six inches;

through (49) Omitted.



(50) "Stun gun," any battery-powered, pulsed electrical device of high
voltage and low or no amperage that can disrupt the central nerv-
ous system and cause temporary loss of voluntary muscle control
of a person;

(50A) through (55) Omitted.
Chapter 22-14

Unlawful Use of Weapons

§ 22-14-5. Possession of firearm with altered serial number-Felony-
Exception. Any person who possesses any firearm on which the manufac-
turer's serial number has been changed, altered, removed or obliterated is
guilty of a Class 6 felony.

The provisions of this section do not apply to persons who have applied for
a new serial number pursuant to § 23-7-43.

§ 22-14-6. Possession of controlled weapon-Felony-Exceptions. Any
person who knowingly possesses a controlled weapon is guilty of a Class 6
felony. However, the provisions of this section do not apply to any person
who:

(1) Is alaw enforcement officer or member of the armed forces of the
United States or South Dakota National Guard acting in the lawful
discharge of duties;

(2) Has a valid state or federal license issued pursuant to law for such
weapon or has registered such weapon with the proper state or
federal authority pursuant to law;

(3) Possesses a controlled weapon briefly after having found it or
taken it from an offender; or

(4) Possesses a controlled weapon, except a machine gun or short
shotgun, under circumstances which negate any purpose or likeli-
hood that the weapon would be used unlawfully.

§ 22-14-7. Reckless discharge of firearm or shooting of bow and arrow
-Leaving trip device-Possession of loaded firearm while intoxicated-
Misdemeanor. Any person who:

(1) Recklessly discharges a firearm or recklessly shoots a bow and
arrow;

(2) Sets a device designed to activate a weapon upon being tripped or
approached, and leaves the device unmarked or unattended by a
competent person; or

(3) Has in personal possession a loaded firearm while intoxicated; is
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.



§ 22-14-8. Concealment of weapon with intent to commit felony-
Felony. Any person who conceals on or about his person a controlled or
dangerous weapon with intent to commit a felony is guilty of a Class 5
felony.

§ 22-14-9.2. Holders of permits from reciprocal states subject to South
Dakota laws-Misdemeanor. Any person who is permitted to carry a con-
cealed pistol in a state with which the secretary of state has entered into a
reciprocity agreement pursuant to § § 23-7-7.3, 23-7-7, 23-7-7.1, and 23-7-
8 may carry a concealed pistol in this state if the permit holder carries the
pistol in compliance with the laws of this state. A violation of this section
is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

§ 22-14-12. Commission of felony while armed with firearms-Felony-
Minimum sentences-Consecutive sentencing-Execution of sentence.
Any person who commits or attempts to commit any felony while armed
with a firearm, including a machine gun or short shotgun, is guilty of a
Class 2 felony for the first conviction. A second or subsequent conviction
is a Class 1 felony. The sentence imposed for a first conviction under this
section shall carry a minimum sentence of imprisonment in the state peni-
tentiary of five years. In case of a second or subsequent conviction under
this section such person shall be sentenced to a minimum imprisonment of
ten years in the penitentiary.

Any sentence imposed under this section shall be consecutive to any other
sentences imposed for a violation of the principal felony. The court may
not place on probation, suspend the execution of the sentence, or suspend
the imposition of the sentence of any person convicted of a violation of
this section.

§ 22-14-14. Armed felony to be charged separately from principal
felony charge-No offense charged when dangerous weapon an element
of principal felony. A violation of § 22-14-12 shall be charged in the in-
dictment or information as a separate count in addition to the principal
felony or attempted felony alleged to have been committed. No offense
may be charged under those sections if the use of a dangerous weapon is a
necessary element of the principal felony alleged to have been committed
or attempted.

§ 22-14-15. Possession of firearm by one with prior violent crime
conviction or certain drug-related conviction-Felony-Fifteen-year pe-
riod. No person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of a
crime of violence or a felony pursuant to § 22-42-2, 22-42-3, 22-42-4, 22-
42-7,22-42-8, 22-42-9, 22-42-10 or 22-42-19, may possess or have control
of a firearm. A violation of this section is a Class 6 felony. The provisions
of this section do not apply to any person who was last discharged from
prison, jail, probation, or parole more than fifteen years prior to the com-
mission of the principal offense.
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§ 22-14-15.1. Possession of firearm by one with prior drug
conviction-Felony-Exception. No person who has been convicted of a
felony under chapter 22-42 or of a felony for a crime with the same ele-
ments in another state may possess or have control of a firearm. A viola-
tion of this section is a Class 6 felony. The provisions of this section do not
apply to any person who was last discharged from prison, jail, probation,
or parole, for a felony under chapter 22-42 more than five years prior to
the commission of the principal offense and is not subject to the re-
strictions in § 22-14-15.

§ 22-14-15.2. Possession of firearm by one convicted of misdemeanor
crime involving domestic violence-Misdemeanor-Civil rights restored-
Repeal of section-Order restoring rights. No person who has been con-
victed of any misdemeanor crime involving an act of domestic violence
may possess or have control of a firearm for a period of one year from the
date of conviction. Any violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
At the end of the one year period, any civil rights lost as a result of this
provision shall be restored. Any person who has lost their right to possess
or have control of a firearm as a result of a misdemeanor conviction in-
volving an act of domestic violence, prior to July 1, 2005, shall be restored
to those civil rights one year after July 1, 2005. This section shall be re-
pealed on the date when any federal law restricting the right to possess
firearms for misdemeanor domestic violence convictions is repealed.

Once eligible under the statute, a person convicted under this section may
petition the convicting court for an order reflecting the restoration of any
firearm rights lost, if the person has not been convicted within the prior
year of a crime for which firearm rights have been lost. A petition filed
under this section shall be verified by the petitioner and served upon the
states attorney in the county where the conviction occurred. Thirty days
after service upon the states attorney, the court shall enter the order, if the
court finds that the petitioner is eligible for relief under this section. (This
section is repealed under its own terms on the date when any federal law
restricting the right to possess firearms for misdemeanor domestic violence
convictions is repealed.)

§ 22-14-16. Providing firearm to person with known prior violent
crime conviction-Felony. Any person who knows that another person is
prohibited by § 22-14-15 or § 22-14-15.1 from possessing a firearm, and
who knowingly gives, loans, or sells a firearm to that person is guilty of a
Class 6 felony.

§ 22-14-17. Firearms incapable of discharge exempt. The provisions of
this chapter do not apply to any firearm which has been permanently al-
tered so it is incapable of being discharged.
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§ 22-14-20. Discharge of firearm at occupied structure or motor vehi-
cle-Felony. Any person who willfully, knowingly and illegally discharges
a firearm at an occupied structure or motor vehicle is guilty of a Class 3
felony.

§ 22-14-21. Discharge of firearm from a moving motor vehicle within
municipality-Felony. Any person who willfully, knowingly and illegally
discharges a firearm from a moving motor vehicle within the incorporated
limits of a municipality under circumstances not constituting a violation of
§ 22-14-20 is guilty of a Class 6 felony.

§ 22-14-22. County courthouse and state capitol defined. For the pur-
poses of §§ 22-14-23 to 22-14-28, inclusive:

(1) The term, county courthouse, means any building occupied for the
public sessions of a circuit court, with its various offices, includ-
ing any building appended to or used as a supplementary structure
to the courthouse; and

(2) The term, state capitol, includes any building appended to or used
as a supplementary structure to the state capitol.

§ 22-14-23. Possession in county courthouse or state capitol—
Misdemeanor. Except as provided in § 22-14-24, any person who know-
ingly possesses or causes to be present any firearm or other dangerous
weapon, in any county courthouse or in the state capitol, or attempts to do
s0, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

§ 22-14-24. Exceptions to penalty for possession in a county
courthouse or state capitol. The provisions of § 22-14-23 do not

apply to:

(1) The lawful performance of official duties by an officer, agent or
employee of the United States, the state, political subdivision
thereof, or a municipality, who is authorized by law to engage in
or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecu-
tion of any violation of law or who is an officer of the court;

(2) The possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon by a judge
or magistrate;

(3) The possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon by a fed-
eral or state official or by a member of the armed services, if such
possession is authorized by law;

(4) The possession of a concealed pistol in the state capitol by a quali-
fied law enforcement officer or a qualified retired law enforce-
ment officer in accordance with the Law Enforcement Officers
Safety Act of 2004, 18 U.S.C. § 926B-C;
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(5) The possession of a concealed pistol anywhere in the state capitol,
other than in the Supreme Court chamber or other access-
controlled private office under the supervision of security person-
nel, by any person not otherwise referenced in this section, pro-
vided:

(a) The person possessing the concealed pistol holds an enhanced
permit issued in accordance with § 23-7-53;

(b) At least twenty-four hours prior to initially entering the state capi-
tol with a concealed pistol, the person notifies the superintendent
of the Division of Highway Patrol, orally or in writing, that the
person intends to possess a concealed pistol in the state capitol;

(c) The notification required by this subdivision includes the date on
which or the range of dates during which the person intends to
possess a concealed pistol in the state capitol, provided the range
of dates may not exceed thirty consecutive days; and

(d) The notification required by the subdivision may be renewed, as
necessary and without limit; and

(6) The lawful carrying of a firearm or other dangerous weapon in a
county courthouse incident to a hunter safety or a gun safety
course or for any other lawful purposes.

§ 22-14-25. Power of court to punish for contempt and to promulgate
rules. Except for the authorizations set forth in § 22-14-24, nothing in this
chapter limits the power of a court to punish for contempt or to promul-
gate rules or orders regulating, restricting or prohibiting the possession of
weapons, within any building housing such court or any of its proceedings,
or upon any grounds pertinent to such building.

§ 22-14-26. Notice to be posted at county courthouse and state capitol.
Notice of the provisions of § 22-14-23 shall be posted conspicuously at
each public entrance to a county courthouse and the state capitol.

§ 22-14-27. Concealed pistol permit not a defense. A defendant to a
prosecution under § 22-14-23 may not claim as a defense that the defend-
ant was the holder of a permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under
chapter 23-7.

§ 22-14-28. Waiver of provisions. By a majority of the members-elect,
the county commission in any county may elect to waive the provisions of
§ 22-14-23 that apply to a county courthouse.
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Chapter 23-7

Firearms Control

§ 23-7-1. Definitions applicable to chapter. Terms used in this chapter,
unless the context otherwise requires, mean:

(1) “Antique firearm,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (4);
(2) “Concealed,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (6);

(3) “Crime of violence,” an action as defined in subdivision 22-1-2
9);

(4) “Pistol,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (32);

(5) “Seller,” a person as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (44).

§ 23-7-1.1. Antique or nondischargeable firearms excepted. This chap-
ter shall not apply to antique firearms or to firearms which have been per-
manently altered so they are incapable of being discharged.

§ 23-7-7. Permit to carry concealed pistol-Background investigation-
Carrying pistol without permit not prohibited. A permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol shall be issued to any person by the sheriff of the county in
which the applicant resides. The permit shall be valid throughout the state
and shall be issued pursuant to § 23-7-7.1. For purposes of verifying the
qualifications of an applicant, prior to issuing a permit, the sheriff shall
execute, and the applicant shall pass, a background investigation, includ-
ing a computer check of available on-line records and the National Instant
Criminal Background Check. The issuance of a permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol under this chapter, or the recognition of nonresident permits
to carry a concealed pistol under § 23-7-7.4, does not impose a general
prohibition on the carry of a pistol without a permit.

§ 23-7-7.1. Requirements for issuance of temporary permit

Time requirement-Appeal of denial. A temporary permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol shall be issued to a person under § 23-7-7 within five days of
application if the person:

(1) Is eighteen years of age or older;

(2) Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of
a felony or a crime of violence;

(3) Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition;
(4) Has no history of violence;

(5) Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a danger to
others or a danger to self as defined in § 27A-1-1 or is not
currently adjudged mentally incompetent;
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(6) Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the
application is being made for at least thirty days immediately
preceding the date of the application;

(7) Has had no violation of chapter 23-7, 22-14, or 22-42 constituting
a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of
application or is not currently charged under indictment or infor-
mation for such an offense;

(8) Is acitizen or legal resident of the United States; and
(9) Is not a fugitive from justice; and

(10)Is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) as
amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. § 922(n) as amended
to October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing or transporting a

firearm, and passes a National Instant Criminal Background
Check.

A person denied a permit may appeal to the circuit court pursuant to chap-
ter § 1-26.21.

§ 23-7-7.2. Liability of issuing authority. An issuing authority that has
issued a permit to carry a concealed pistol in accordance with this chapter
may not be held civilly liable to any person or the person’s estate for any
injury suffered, including any action for wrongful death or property dam-
age, because the issuing authority issued the permit. For purposes of this
section, the Division of Criminal Investigation is an issuing authority
when

issuing a certificate of completion pursuant to § 23-7-59.

§ 23-7-7.3. Reciprocity with other states-Conditions. The attorney
general shall compare South Dakota permit issuance statutes with the per-
mit issuance statutes in states with which reciprocity is sought or requested
in order to determine whether the laws of the other state meet or exceed the
requirements of this chapter for the issuance of a permit.

The secretary of state may enter into reciprocity agreements with other
states after the attorney general has notified the secretary of state that the
other states' laws meet or exceed the provisions of this chapter.

§ 23-7-7.4. Nonresident permit to carry concealed pistol valid

in South Dakota-Permit not required. Any valid permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol, issued to a nonresident of South Dakota, is valid in South
Dakota according to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue, but
only to the extent that the terms of issuance comply with any appropriate
South Dakota statute or promulgated rule. This section does not require a
nonresident of this state who may lawfully possess a pistol to have a permit
in order to carry a concealed pistol in this state.
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§ 23-7-7.5. Active duty military personnel and spouses. Any person who
is active duty military, or the spouse of a person who is active duty mili-
tary, with a home of record in South Dakota is considered to have met the
provisions of subdivision § 23-7-7.1(6).

§ 23-7-7.6. Time requirement for INTERPOL check. Notwithstanding
the five day requirement provided in § 23-7-7.1, if the background investi-
gation under § 23-7-7 requires an international criminal history check
through INTERPOL, the sheriff shall issue a temporary permit to carry a
concealed pistol within three business days of receiving a response from
INTERPOL if the applicant otherwise meets the requirements of § 23-7-
7.1.

§ 23-7-8. Application for permit or enhanced permit-Form and
contents-Copies. Application for permit, enhanced permit, or gold card
permit to carry concealed pistol. The application for a permit to carry a
concealed pistol, enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol, or a gold
card permit to carry a concealed pistol shall be filed either electronically or
in triplicate on a form prescribed by the secretary of state. The application
shall require the applicant's complete name, address, occupation, place and
date of birth, country of citizenship, physical description, a statement that
the applicant has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convict-
ed of a crime of violence, a sworn statement that the information on the
application is true and correct, and the applicant's signature. If the appli-
cant is not a United States citizen, the application shall require any alien or
admission number issued by the United States Bureau of Immigration and
Customs Enforcement. If filed in triplicate, the original shall be delivered
to the applicant as the temporary permit, the duplicate shall within seven
days be sent by first class mail to the secretary of state who shall issue the
official permit, and the triplicate shall be preserved for five years by the
authority issuing the permit. If the application is filed electronically, two
copies shall be made and each shall be signed by the applicant. One copy
shall be delivered to the applicant as the temporary permit, and the other
copy shall be preserved for five years by the authority issuing the permit.

§ 23-7-8.1. Form and contents of permit and enhanced permit. The
secretary of state shall prescribe the form of the permit to carry a concealed
pistol and the form of form of the gold card permit to carry a concealed
pistol pursuant to § 23-7-8. Each permit shall list the applicant's name, ad-
dress, the expiration date, and the issuance date of the permit. The en-
hanced permit to carry a concealed pistol shall clearly designate that the
permit is enhanced and the gold card permit shall clearly designate that it is
a gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol. Nothing in this section pre-
vents any law enforcement officer, Department of Corrections employee,
parole agent, security guard employed on the premises, or any other public
official, with the written permission of the sheriff, from carrying a con-
cealed weapon in the performance of that person’s duties.
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§ 23-7-8.2. Duration of permit-Fee. The permit to carry a concealed pis-
tol is valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance. The fee for
issuing the permit is ten dollars. The local authority shall collect the fee.
Seven dollars of the fee shall be remitted to the secretary of state and three
dollars shall be deposited in the general fund of the county or municipality
issuing the permit.

§ 23-7-8.3. Permit issued to specific person-Transfer prohibited. A
permit to carry a concealed pistol shall be issued to a specific person only
and may not be transferred from one person to another.

§ 23-7-8.4. Revocation of permit-Procedure. A prosecuting attorney,
upon application of a law enforcement officer, may apply to the circuit
court for an order to show cause why a person's permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol should not be revoked. Upon order of the court, after hearing,
the permit shall be revoked and the holder of the permit shall immediately
surrender the permit to the sheriff of the county in which he resides.

§ 23-7-8.6. List, record, or registry of privately owned firearms, own-
ers of firearms, or holders of permits prohibited. No state agency, polit-
ical subdivision, official, agent, or employee of any state agency or politi-
cal subdivision may knowingly keep or cause to be kept any list, record, or
registry of privately owned firearms or any list, record, or registry of the
owners of those firearms, or any list, record, or registry of holders of per-
mits to carry a concealed pistol.

§ 23-7-8.7. Application of firearm confidentiality provisions. The
provisions of § 23-7-8.6 do not apply to:

(1) Records of firearms that have been used in committing any crime;

(2) Permits to carry a concealed pistol records relating to any person
who has been convicted of a felony;

(3) Records of the serial numbers of firearms that have been reported
stolen that are retained for a period not in excess of ten days after
such firearms are recovered and returned to the lawful owner.
However, official documentation recording the theft of a recov-
ered weapon may be maintained no longer than the balance of the
year entered and two additional years;

(4) Firearm records that must be retained by firearm dealers under
federal law, including copies of such records transmitted to law
enforcement agencies;

(5) Any on duty law enforcement officer while conducting routine
verification of the validity of a permit to carry a concealed pistol;
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(6) The secretary of state for the issuance of concealed pistol permits
pursuant to chapter 23-7 and any access reasonably necessary to
verify information with regard to specific permits individually;
and

(7) The preservation of the triplicate copy of the application for a per-
mit to carry a concealed pistol by the authority issuing the permit
as required by § 23-7-8.

§ 23-7-8.8. Law enforcement officer not restricted in performance of
official duty under specified circumstances. The provisions of §§ 23-7-
8.6 to 23-7-8.9, inclusive, do not restrict any law enforcement officer in the
performance of any official duty if the law enforcement officer is in the
immediate physical presence of a permit holder who has either presented a
permit to the officer or declared to the officer that he or she is a permit
holder.

§ 23-7-8.9. Retention of data by law enforcement officer limited. The
provisions of §§ 23-7-8.6 to 23-7-8.9, inclusive, do specifically prohibit
any law enforcement officer from retaining any notes, data, or pieces of
information, either collectively or individually, unless the retention of such
notes, data, or pieces of information is pertinent to a specific ongoing in-
vestigation or prosecution. Access by law enforcement to information nec-
essary to perform a periodic National Instant Criminal Background Check
of gold card or enhanced pistol permit holders under § 23-7-68 is author-
ized.

§ 23-7-8.10. Access restricted to application, record, or registry of
holders of permits. No state agency, political subdivision, official, agent,
employee of any state agency or political subdivision, may knowingly re-
lease or permit access to any application, list, record or registry of appli-
cants or holders of permits to carry a concealed pistol to any person except
another law enforcement agency or the secretary of state.

§ 23-7-8.11 Renewal of regular permit to carry concealed pistol. The
holder of the regular permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the per-
mit through the sheriff of the county where the holder resides for a period
beginning ninety days before the permit expires. The holder shall pay a ten
-dollar renewal fee and pass a background investigation, including a com-
puter check of available online records and the National Instant Criminal
Background Check, required under § 23-3 7-7 prior to the renewal of the
permit. The renewal fee shall be distributed as set forth in § 23-7-8.2.

§ 23-7-8.12 Renewal of regular concealed carry permit by deployed
military service member. If a South Dakota resident holds a regular con-
cealed carry permit issued in accordance with § 23-7-7, and is a member of
a state National Guard unit, the Armed Forces of the United States, or the
Armed Forces Reserves of the United States, and the holder's permit ex-
pires during an active duty military assignment or deployment outside of
the holder's state of residence, the holder may request a renewal form
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application from the Office of the Secretary of State. The secretary shall
prescribe the contents of the application form and any accompanying mate-
rials. The application shall be accompanied by documentation of the de-
ployment, including dates and location of the deployment if available for
disclosure; an affidavit signed by the holder's commanding officer or unit
commander attesting to the identity of the holder and the fact the holder is
unable to return to the state to renew; and a copy of a current, valid, gov-
ernment-issued identification card with a photograph of the holder. The
secretary shall specify the contents of the affidavit. The holder shall mail
the application, containing original signatures in ink, to the sheriff in the
holder's county of residence. The sheriff shall conduct the background in-
vestigation, including a computer check of available online records and the
National Instant Criminal Background Check required under § 23-7-7,
within five days of receipt of the military application renewal form. The
original signature of the applicant on the renewal form shall serve as the
applicant's signature for the temporary permit.

§ 23-7-8.13. Grace period for renewal of permit. Upon the expiration of
a permit to carry a concealed pistol that was issued pursuant to this chapter,
the permit holder has a sixty-day grace period to renew the permit. During
the grace period, the permit holder may continue to carry a concealed pis-
tol.

§ 23-7-8.14. Grace period not applicable to certain permit holders.
The grace period provided in § 23-7-8.13 does not apply to any permit
holder who committed a crime that would make it unlawful for the permit
holder to own or possess a gun, or a permit holder who attempted to renew
the holder's permit, but was denied renewal upon application for a reason
provided in § 23-7-7.1.

§ 23-7-9. Pistol to be delivered wrapped and unloaded-Violation as
misdemeanor. Any pistol that is delivered shall be securely wrapped and
shall be unloaded. A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

§ 23-7-11. Regulation does not apply to sale of pistols at wholesale.
Sections 23-7-7 to 23-7-12, inclusive, do not apply to sales at wholesale.

§ 23-7-12. False information or false evidence of identity to secure
pistol or permit as felony. No person, in purchasing or otherwise securing
delivery of a pistol or in applying for a permit to carry a concealed pistol,
may give false information or offer false evidence of his identity. A viola-
tion of this section is a Class 6 felony.

§ 23-7-18. Sale of pistol by retail dealer-Restrictions-Misdemeanor. No
pistol shall be sold in violation of any provisions of this chapter, nor shall a
pistol be sold under any circumstances unless the purchaser is personally
known to the seller or shall present clear evidence of his identity. A viola-
tion of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
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§ 23-7-43. New serial number engraved or stamped on firearm. Upon
application by an owner of a firearm, the Director of the Division of Crim-
inal Investigation shall engrave or stamp a new serial number on any fire-
arm on which the manufacturer's serial number has been changed, altered,
removed or obliterated.

§ 23-7-44. Possession of pistols by minors prohibited-Misdemeanor.
No person under the age of eighteen years may knowingly possess a pistol.
A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

§ 23-7-45. Exceptions to prohibition against possession of pistols by
minors. The provisions of § 23-7-44 or to a criminal prosecution brought
after transfer pursuant to chapter 26-11, do not apply to any minor who has
the consent of the minor’s parent or guardian to possess such pistol, and:

(1) That the minor was in the presence of the minor's parent or guard-
ian;

(2) That the minor was on premises owned or leased by the minor or
the minor's parent, guardian, or immediate family member;

(3) That the minor was in the presence of a licensed or accredited gun
safety instructor; or

(4) That the pistol was being used for farming, ranching, hunting,
trapping, target shooting, or gun safety instruction.

§ 23-7-46. Prohibited transfer of firearms and ammunition to juve-
niles-Felony. No person may sell, transfer, give, loan, furnish, or deliver a
firearm or firearm ammunition to any person under the age of eighteen
years if such person knows or reasonably believes that the minor recipient
of the transfer intended, at the time of transfer, to use the firearm or am-
munition in the commission or attempted commission of a crime of vio-
lence as defined in subdivision 22-1-2(9). The affirmative defenses con-
tained in chapter 23-7 do not apply to a prosecution under this section. A
violation of this section is a Class 5 felony.

§ 23-7-70. Carrying concealed pistol in malt or alcoholic beverage
establishment prohibited. A person may not carry a concealed pistol in
any licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage establishment
that derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of malt or alco-
holic beverages.

§ 23-7-71. Minors prohibited from carrying concealed pistol except
with parent or guardian. A person who is under the age of eighteen years
of age may not carry a concealed pistol except in the presence of a parent
or legal guardian.
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Chapter 23-7-53 — 23-7-68; 25-10-24
Enhanced and Gold Card Permits

§ 23-7-53. Optional enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol.
Contents of application. An applicant may submit an application to the
sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides for an optional en-
hanced permit to carry a concealed pistol. The application shall include:

(1) The application for the optional enhanced permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol;

(2) A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity
authorized to receive such information, for a state, national, and
international criminal history background check;

(3) An authorization to run a fingerprint background check;

(4) A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint
background check and, if the sheriff takes the fingerprints, the
sheriff shall secure the fingerprints at no additional charge to the
applicant;

(5) A separate application fee of one hundred dollars for the optional
permit to carry a concealed pistol which shall be distributed fifty
percent to the sheriff and fifty percent to the secretary of state to
be used by the secretary of state to administer the concealed carry
program; and

(6) Proof that the applicant has successfully completed a qualifying
handgun course as defined in § 23-7-58 within the preceding
twelve months or proof that the applicant is a current or former
South Dakota law enforcement officer.

The sheriff shall forward the copy of the applicant's fingerprints, the appli-
cant's authorization for processing a fingerprint background check, and the
payment for the fingerprint background check to the Division of Criminal
Investigation for processing.

§ 23-7-54. Temporary enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol—
Requirements-Records. The sheriff shall retain the application and other
documents until the sheriff receives the results of the background checks
required pursuant to § 23-7-53. Within seven days following receipt of a
confirmation that the applicant passed each criminal background check
required pursuant to this section and § 23-7-53, the sheriff shall file the
application with the secretary of state pursuant to § 23-7-8.
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If the applicant submits an application pursuant to § 23-7-53, meets the
requirements of § 23-7-7.1, is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18
U.S.C. 922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as
amended to October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing, or transporting
a firearm, passes the required fingerprint background check, and passes a
National Instant Criminal Background Check, the sheriff of the county
where the applicant submitted the application shall, within thirty days of
application, issue the applicant a temporary enhanced permit to carry a
concealed pistol. The temporary permit must clearly designate that the per-
mit is enhanced.

§ 23-7-54.2 Age requirement for enhanced permit--Temporary
restricted enhanced permit for individuals age eighteen to twenty.
Notwithstanding any other law, the age requirement for the enhanced per-
mit is for twenty-one years of age or older.

Any applicant between eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive, who
meets the requirements of §§ 23-7-53 and 23-7-54 and any other specified
requirements and qualifications and upon the approval from the sheriff of
the county where the applicant submitted the application shall be issued a
temporary restricted enhanced permit that clearly designates the restricted
enhanced permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclu-
sive.

§ 23-7-54.3 New temporary restricted enhanced permit substituted
for permit issued between July 1, 2015 and March 9, 2018. Any indi-
vidual between eighteen and twenty years of age, inclusive, holding an
enhanced concealed carry permit, issued between July 1, 2015, and March
9, 2018, shall be issued a new temporary restricted enhanced permit that
designates the permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age,
inclusive.

§ 23-7-54.4 Request for unrestricted enhanced permit upon reaching
age twenty-one. A person holding an unexpired restricted enhanced per-
mit who has reached the age of twenty-one may submit a written request to
the secretary of state for an unrestricted enhanced permit. The unrestricted
enhanced permit shall be issued at no additional cost.

§ 23-7-55. Duration of enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol -
Identification required. An enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol is
valid for five years and is only valid if carried with a government issued
form of identification that includes a picture of the permit holder.
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§ 23-7-56. Renewal of enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol. The
holder of the permit may renew the permit through the sheriff of the county
where the holder resides for a period beginning ninety days before the per-
mit expires and ending thirty days after expiration of the permit, if the
holder pays the fifty dollar renewal fee and passes a National Instant Crim-
inal Background Check. If the holder of the enhanced permit to carry a
concealed pistol does not renew the permit within thirty days of expiration
of the permit, the holder must reapply for an enhanced permit to carry a
concealed pistol pursuant to § 23-7-53.

§ 23-7-57. References, rights, and responsibilities related to permit to
carry concealed pistol apply to enhanced permit. References, rights,
and responsibilities related to permit to carry concealed pistol apply to
enhanced permit and gold card permit. Unless otherwise specified, the
references, rights, and responsibilities in this chapter related to a permit to
carry a concealed pistol also apply to an enhanced permit to carry a con-
cealed pistol and a gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol.

§ 23-7-58. Qualifying handgun course. A qualifying handgun course is
any handgun course that is taught by a National Rifle Association certified
instructor who also holds a current certificate of completion from the South
Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation on the use of force. The qualify-
ing handgun course must include instruction in each of the following:

(1) South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force;
(2) The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;
(3) Self-defense principles; and

(4) Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight
rounds of ammunition by the student.

§ 23-7-59. Use of force course for instructors. The Division of Criminal
Investigation shall offer at least one course focused on the use of force,
including applicable state laws, per year, open to National Rifle Associa-
tion certified instructors. The Division of Criminal Investigation shall de-
velop the use of force course and may promulgate rules pursuant to chapter
1-26 to establish the course standards for the issuance of a certificate of
completion, establish a fee for the course not to exceed one hundred fifty
dollars, and to implement the course.

§ 23-7-60. Application for gold card permit to carry concealed pistol.
An applicant may submit an application to the sheriff of the county in
which the applicant resides for a gold card permit to carry a concealed pis-
tol. The application shall include:

(1) The application for the gold card permit to carry a concealed pis-
tol;
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(2) A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Feder-
al Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity
authorized to receive such information, for a state, national, and
international criminal history background check;

(3) An authorization to run a fingerprint background check;

(4) A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint
background check; and

(5) A separate application fee of seventy dollars for the gold card
permit to carry a concealed pistol. Thirty dollars of the fee shall
be distributed to the sheriff, thirty-four dollars shall be distributed
to the Department of Public Safety, and six dollars to the secre-
tary of state to be used by the secretary of state to administer the
concealed carry program.

The sheriff shall forward the copy of the applicant's fingerprints, the appli-
cant's authorization for processing a fingerprint background check, and the
payment for the fingerprint background check to the Division of Criminal
Investigation for processing.

23-7-61. Temporary gold card permit to carry concealed pistol--
Requirements--Records. The sheriff shall retain the application and other
documents until the sheriff receives the results of the background checks
required pursuant to § 23-7-60. Within seven days following receipt of a
confirmation that the applicant passed each criminal background check
required pursuant to this section and § 23-7-60, the sheriff shall file the
application with the secretary of state pursuant to § 23-7-8.

If the applicant submits an application pursuant to § 23-7-8, meets the re-
quirements of § 23-7-7.1, is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18
U.S.C. 922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as
amended to October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing, or transporting
a firearm, passes the required fingerprint background check, and passes a
National Instant Criminal Background Check, the sheriff of the county of
the application shall, within thirty days of application, issue the applicant a
temporary gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol. The temporary per-
mit must clearly designate that the permit is a gold card permit.

§ 23-7-62. Renewal of gold card permit to carry concealed pistol. The
holder of the gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the
permit through the sheriff of the county where the holder resides, no earlier
than ninety days prior to the expiration of the permit. The holder shall pay
a seventy dollar renewal fee and pass a National Instant Criminal Back-
ground Check prior to the renewal of the permit. The renewal fee shall be
distributed as set forth in subdivision § 23-7-60(5).

§ 23-7-63. Duration of gold card permit to carry concealed pistol. The
gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol is valid for a period of five
years from the date of issuance.
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§ 23-7-64. Revocation of gold card or enhanced permit to carry
concealed pistol-Sheriff to secure return of permit--Petition for return
of permit. A gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol or an enhanced
permit to carry a concealed pistol is automatically revoked upon failure to
maintain the requirements under § 23-7-7.1 or if the gold card or enhanced
permit holder becomes prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. 922(g) as
amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as amended to October
26, 2005, from receiving, possessing, or transporting a firearm.

Upon such occurrence, the permit holder shall immediately return the gold
card or enhanced concealed pistol permit to the county sheriff of the per-
mit holder's county of residence. If the permit has not been returned, upon
learning that a permit holder is ineligible for a gold card or enhanced per-
mit for any violent crime or for a crime punishable by more than one year
of incarceration, the sheriff of the permit holder's county of residence shall
secure the possession and return of the gold card or enhanced permit forth-
with. For any other disqualifying offense set forth above the sheriff of the
permit holder's county of residence shall secure the possession and return
of the gold card or enhanced permit as soon as reasonably possible after
being notified of the holders ineligibility. A gold card or enhanced permit
holder whose permit has been secured by law enforcement under this sec-
tion may petition the circuit court for the return of the gold card or return
of the gold card or enhanced permit as soon as reasonably possible after
being notified of the holders ineligibility. A gold card or enhanced permit
holder whose permit has been secured by law enforcement under this sec-
tion may petition the circuit court for the return of the gold card or en-
hanced permit if the permit holder believes the gold card or enhanced per-
mit was unlawfully secured. Law enforcement may communicate with
federally licensed firearms dealers relative to revoked gold card or en-
hanced permits.

§ 23-7-65. Possession of revoked gold card or enhanced concealed
pistol permit as misdemeanor. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone
that is ineligible to possess a gold card or enhanced concealed pistol per-
mit to possess or present a revoked gold card or enhanced concealed pistol
permit.

§ 23-7-67 Failure or refusal to surrender revoked gold card or
enhanced permit as misdemeanor. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor for a
person to fail or refuse to surrender to the county sheriff of the person's
county of residence, upon lawful demand, a gold card or enhanced permit
to carry a concealed pistol that has been revoked. If a person fails to return
a gold card or enhanced permit to the sheriff of the person's county of
residence after lawful demand, the sheriff shall direct a law enforcement
officer to secure its possession and return in compliance with § 23-7-64.
The law enforcement officer shall receive ten dollars and fifty cents plus
mileage, at a rate established by the State Board of Finance, to be paid by
the violator. Failure to pay the fee and mileage is a Class 2 misdemeanor.
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§ 23-7-68. National Instant Criminal Background Check of gold card
or enhanced concealed pistol permit holders. Law enforcement may
periodically perform a National Instant Criminal Background Check of
gold card or enhanced concealed pistol permit holders for the purposes of
determining whether the permit holder remains eligible for the permit un-
der § 23-7-7.1, 18 U.S.C. 922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, and 18
U.S.C. 922(n) as amended to October 26, 2005.

§ 23-7-69 Notice to secretary of state of change of name or address--
Issuance of new permit. A person who has been issued a permit to carry
a concealed pistol shall maintain current information on the permit by
notifying the secretary of state in writing of a change in the person's name
due to marriage or court order or of a change in physical address. If the
revised address is located within South Dakota, the secretary of state shall
provide a new permit to the person.

The county sheriff may issue a temporary permit or the secretary of state
may issue an updated permit that reflects an address outside of South
Dakota in the following instances:

(1) For a South Dakota resident who is active duty military personnel,
or the spouse of a person who is active duty military, with a home
of record in South Dakota; or

(2) For a South Dakota permit holder whose home is physically locat-
ed in South Dakota but has an official postal address located with-
in in a county in another state that shares a border with South Da-
kota.

The fee for processing a replacement permit is two dollars and shall be
used by the secretary of state to administer the concealed carry program.

§ 25-10-24. Surrender of weapon or concealed pistol permit. The court
may require the defendant to surrender any dangerous weapon or any con-
cealed pistol permit issued under 23-7 in the defendant's possession to lo-
cal law enforcement.
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Chapter 32-20
Motorcycle Regulation

§ 32-20-6.6. Restrictions on possession of firearms on motorcycles and
off-road vehicles—Violation as misdemeanor. No person, other than a
law enforcement officer or conservation officer, or any person on the per-
son's own land or land leased by the person, may operate or ride on any
motorcycle or off-road vehicle with any firearm in the person's possession
unless the firearm is completely unloaded and within a carrying case which
encloses the entire firearm. However, this section does not apply to any
person who is carrying a pistol and possesses a permit to carry a concealed
pistol issued pursuant to chapter 23-7. This section does not apply to any
person who holds a permit issued pursuant to § 41-8-37 while engaged in
hunting from an off-road vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the
permit. This section shall be enforced by all law enforcement officers in-
cluding conservation officers. A violation of this section is a Class 2 misde-
meanor. The restrictions in this section do not apply to a utility-terrain ve-
hicle (UTV) or any vehicle that is designed for four or more low-pressure
tires or rubberized tracks, and has a seat a person sits upon, and has a steer-
ing wheel.

Chapter 32-20A
Snowmobile Operation

§ 32-20A-11. Restrictions on possession of firearms—Violation as
misdemeanor. Except as provided in § 32-20A-12, no person other than a
law enforcement officer or conservation officer, or any person on the per-
son’s land or land leased by the person, may operate or ride in any snow-
mobile with any firearm in the person’s possession unless the firearm is
completely unloaded and within a carrying case which encloses the entire
firearm. However, the restrictions in this section do not apply to any person
who is carrying a pistol and possesses a permit to carry a concealed pistol
issued pursuant to chapter 23-7. A violation of this section is a Class 2 mis-
demeanor. The restrictions in this section do not apply to a utility-terrain
vehicle (UTV) or any vehicle that is designed for four or more low-
pressure tires or rubberized tracks, and has a seat a person sits upon, and
has a steering wheel.

Municipal, Township or
County Government
No municipal, township or county government in South Dakota may pass
any ordinance that restricts possession, transportation, sale, transfer, own-

ership, manufacture, or repair of firearms or ammunition or their compo-
nents. (See SDCL § 9-19-20, 8-5-13 and 7-18A-36)
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Chapter 13-32

Supervision of Students and Conduct of School

§ 13-32-7. Possession of firearms on elementary or secondary school
premises or vehicle as misdemeanor-Exceptions. Any person, other than
a law enforcement officer or school sentinel acting pursuant to § 13-64-1,
who intentionally carries, has in his possession, stores, keeps, leaves, plac-
es, or puts into the possession of another person, any firearm, or air gun,
whether or not the firearm or air gun is designed, adapted, used, or intend-
ed primarily for imitative or noisemaking purposes, or any dangerous
weapon, on or in any elementary or secondary school premises, vehicle, or
building or any premises, vehicle, or building used or leased for elemen-
tary or secondary school functions, whether or not any person is endan-
gered by such actions, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section
does not apply to starting guns while in use at athletic events, firearms, or
air guns at firing ranges, gun shows, and supervised schools or sessions for
training in the use of firearms. This section does not apply to the ceremoni-
al presence of unloaded weapons at color guard ceremonies.

The Law Enforcement Officers
Safety Act of 2004

The Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) of 2004 amended the
Federal criminal code to authorize qualified law enforcement officers or
qualified retired law enforcement officers carrying the photographic identi-
fication issued by their governmental agency, notwithstanding any other
provision of the law of any State or political subdivision thereof, to carry a
concealed firearm. The federal law provides that such authorization shall
not supersede State laws that: (1) permit private entities to prohibit the pos-
session of concealed firearms on their property; or (2) prohibit the posses-
sion of firearms on State or local government property. The law also ex-
cludes from the definition of "firearm" any machine gun, firearm silencer,
or destructive device.

Click here to view the Enrolled Act.

The LEOSA was amended in 2010 to extend the coverage to include law
enforcement officers of Amtrak Police, Federal Reserve Police and law
enforcement officers of the executive branch of the Federal Government,
along with military law enforcement personnel. The aggregate years for
retired officers was reduced from fifteen to ten.

Click here to view the 2010 amendment.
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The LEOSA was further amended in 2013 to clarify the definition of
“qualified active” and “qualified retired” law enforcement officer, along
with the term “police officer”, expanding the powers of arrest requirement
definition to include those who have or had the authority to “apprehend”
suspects under the Uniform Code of Military Justice.

Click here to view the 2013 amendment.

National Parks

For regulations on concealed carry within National Parks, please contact
the National Park Service for up-to-date information.

http://www.nps.gov/state/sd/index.htm

Chapter 2:01:17
Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force Training Pro-
gram Minimum Standards

Section
2:01:17:01 Minimum standards for use of force course.
2:01:17:02 Submission of use of force training application.
2:01:17:03 Filing of fingerprints.
2:01:17:04 Reapplication for use of force training course.
2:01:17:05 Expiration of training.

2:01:17:01. Minimum standards for use of force course. A person may
attend the use of force course only if the person meets the following
requirements:

(1) Is currently certified as a National Rifle Association handgun
instructor;

(2) Has a valid South Dakota concealed weapons permit or is a cur-
rent or retired law enforcement officer in good standing;

(3) Has fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency; and
(4) Is of good moral character.

2:01:17:02. Submission of a use of force training application. An
applicant to the use of force training course shall complete the use of force
training course application provided by the law enforcement training office
and return the application with two sets of the fingerprint cards required by
subdivision 2:01:17:01(3).4
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2:01:17:03. Filing of fingerprints. An applicant's fingerprints taken under
subdivision 2:01:17:01(3) may be distributed to local, state, and national
fingerprint files to disclose if the applicant has a criminal record.

2:01:17:04. Reapplication for use of force training course. An applicant
who has failed to successfully complete the use of force training course, or
has been dismissed from the program under §2:01:18:08, may reapply after
one year.

2:01:17:05. Expiration of training. The use of force training certificate of
completion issued under § 2:01:18:01 expires on the last day of the twenty-
fourth calendar month on the certificate of completion.

Chapter 2:01:18
Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force
Training Program

Section
2:01:18:01 Certification of completion.
2:01:18:02 Approved training course.
2:01:18:03 Successful completion of training course.
2:01:18:04 Time course is conducted.
2:01:18:05 Place of training.
2:01:18:06 Training course fee.
2:01:18:07 Discipline during training course.
2:01:18:08 Dismissal.

2:01:18:01. Certificate of completion. Upon successful completion of the
training course required by this chapter, the law enforcement training of-
fice shall issue a certificate indicating that the individual successfully com-
pleted the use of force training course.

2:01:18:02. Approved training course. The use of force training course
shall consist of a curriculum of at least eight hours of training and includes
the following subject areas:

(1) Use of force; and
(2) Legal aspects.
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2:01:18:03. Successful completion of training course. An applicant, to
successfully complete the use of force training course, must receive a
passing score on all written and skills examinations administered in con-
nection with the course. The executive secretary, at the direction of the
commission, shall establish rules of internal management setting forth the
passing score for each examination. The executive secretary shall, prior to
the commencement of the training course, notify applicants of the level of
performance that constitutes a passing score for each examination. An
applicant may retake the examination within seven days of failing. An
applicant may not take an examination more than twice. The executive
secretary may, for cause, allow an applicant to retake an examination at
other times.

2:01:18:04. Time course is conducted. The use of force training course
shall commence at the time the executive secretary deems appropriate, but
at least once per year.

2:01:18:05. Place of training. Unless otherwise stated by the executive
secretary, the use of force training course is conducted at the criminal jus-
tice training center in Pierre, South Dakota.

2:01:18:06. Training course fee. An applicant attending the use of force
training course shall pay Law Enforcement Training a $150.00 fee.

2:01:18:07. Discipline during training course. The executive secretary
may enforce restrictions and rules of internal management as necessary to
maintain the orderly instruction of individuals and efficient operation of
the use of force training course. Individuals must comply with such re-
strictions and rules as set forth by the executive secretary in the basic
training course student handbook, or such other specific directives as the
executive secretary may issue.

2:01:18:08. Dismissal. The executive secretary may dismiss, from the use
of force training course, any person who violates any restrictions or rule
established by the executive secretary to administer or maintain order dur-
ing the training course.
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