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Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol 

A Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol may be obtained from the sheriff of the 

county of which the applicant is a resident. South Dakota residents and 

nonresidents who may lawfully possess a pistol are not required to have a 

permit in order to carry a concealed pistol in this state (SDCL 23-7-7). 

• Regular Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $10.00 (SDCL 

23-7-8.2) 

• Enhanced Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $100.00 

(SDCL 23-7-53; SDCL 23-7-55)  

• Gold Card Permit is valid for five years and the fee is $70.00 

(SDCL 23-7-60; SDCL 23-7-63) 

The applicant must complete a form called an Application and Temporary 

Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol. The information required for the permit 

includes (SDCL 23-7-8; SDCL 23-7-53; SDCL 23-7-60): the applicant's 

complete name, address, occupation, place and date of birth, country of 

citizenship, alien identification number if not a U.S. citizen, physical 

description, a statement that the applicant has never pled guilty to, nolo 

contendere to, or been convicted of a crime of violence, a sworn statement 

that the information on the application is true and correct, and the applicant's 

signature.  

Providing false information or false evidence of identity in applying for a 

permit to carry a concealed pistol is a Class 6 felony punishable by two years 

imprisonment, a fine of four thousand dollars, or both (SDCL 23-7-12). 

Upon the expiration of a permit to carry a concealed pistol, the permit holder 

has a sixty-day grace period to renew the permit (SDCL 23-7-8.13). 

Law enforcement may periodically perform a National Instant Criminal 

Background Check (NICS) of Gold Card or Enhanced Permit holders for the 

purposes of determining whether the permit holder remains eligible for the 

permit (SDCL 23-7-68).  

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-7&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-8.2&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-8.2&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-53&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-55&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-60&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-63&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-8&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-53&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-60&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-12&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-8.13&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-68&Type=Statute
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Sample Pistol Permit 

 

 

 

 

 

The person issued this  

permit is entitled to carry  

a concealed pistol anywhere in 

South Dakota except where  

prohibited by law. This permit is 

not transferable. 

1 

Steve Barnett 

Secretary of State 
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The applicant must also meet the following requirements  

(SDCL 23-7-7.1): 

• Is eighteen years of age or older; 

• Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a 

felony or a crime of violence; 

• Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition; 

• Has no history of violence; 

• Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger to others" 

or a "danger to self" as defined in § 27A-1-1 or is not currently 

adjudged mentally incompetent; 

• Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the 

application is being made for at least thirty days immediately 

preceding the date of the application; 

• Has had no violations of chapter § 23-7, 22-14, or 22-42 constituting 

a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of 

application or is not currently charged under indictment or 

information for such an offense; 

• Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; and 

• Is not a fugitive from justice. 

• Is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) as 

amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. § 922(n) as amended to 

October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing or transporting a 

firearm, and passes a National Instant Criminal Background Check. 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-7.1&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7&Type=StatuteChapter
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14&Type=StatuteChapter
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-42&Type=StatuteChapter
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Additional ENHANCED Permit Requirements 

The application shall include (SDCL 23-7-53): 

• The application for the optional enhanced permit to carry a 

concealed pistol;  

• A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity 

authorized to receive such information, for a state, national, and 

international criminal history background check;  

• An authorization to run a fingerprint background check;  

• A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint 

background check;  

• A separate application fee of one hundred dollars for the optional 

permit to carry a concealed pistol; and  

• Proof that the applicant has successfully completed a qualifying 

handgun course as defined in SDCL 23-7-58 within the preceding 

twelve months or proof that the applicant is a current or former 

South Dakota law enforcement officer.  Qualifying handgun 

course must include instruction in each of the following: 

o South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force; 

o The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of 

handguns; 

o Self-defense principles; and 

o Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight 

rounds of ammunition by the student. 

The sheriff has five days from the date of application in which to issue the 

temporary permit (SDCL 23-7-7.1).Within seven days after the temporary 

permit has been issued, the sheriff sends a copy of the application to the 

secretary of state who issues the official permit (SDCL 23-7-8).   

The permit is valid throughout South Dakota except in the following:  any 

licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage establishment that 

derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of malt or alcoholic 

beverages (SDCL 23-7-70); any county courthouse as defined in SDCL 22-
14-22 (SDCL 12-14-23); or any elementary or secondary schools  (SDCL 13-

32-7). The permit is not transferable from one person to another (SDCL 23-7-

8.3). 

 

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-53&Type=Statute
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Reciprocity 

Pursuant to SDCL 23-7-7.3 the Secretary of State has assigned reciprocity 

agreements for concealed weapons permits with a number of states. 

§ 23-7-7.3  Reciprocity with other states-Conditions. The attorney general 

shall compare South Dakota permit issuance statutes with the permit issuance 

statutes in states with which reciprocity is sought or requested in order to 

determine whether the laws of the other state meet or exceed the requirements 

of this chapter for the issuance of a permit. The secretary of state may enter 

into reciprocity agreements with other states after the attorney general has 

notified the secretary of state that the other states' laws meet or exceed the 

provisions of this chapter. 

 

Recognition 

The state of South Dakota recognizes any valid concealed pistol permit issued 

to a nonresident of South Dakota, according to the terms of its issuance in the 

state of its issue. 

§ 23-7-7.4  Nonresident permit to carry concealed pistol valid in South 

Dakota-Permit not required. Any valid permit to carry a concealed pistol, 

issued to a nonresident of South Dakota, is valid in South Dakota according 

to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue, but only to the extent that 

the terms of issuance comply with any appropriate South Dakota statute or 

promulgated rule. This section does not require a nonresident of this state who 

may lawfully possess a pistol to have a permit in order to carry a concealed 

pistol in this state. 

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-7.3&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-7.4&Type=Statute
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Purchase of a Firearm 

Federal Requirements 

Anyone purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must complete 

a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms Form 4473 (Firearms Transaction 

Record).  This form will be maintained by the dealer. 

A firearms purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal 

Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check 

System (NICS) check, which will be performed by the firearms dealer. The 

check will indicate to the dealer whether or not the purchaser’s background 

allows for the person to complete the purchase of the firearm. If the check 

disallows the sale for no warranted reason, there is an appeals process the 

purchaser can pursue to receive the necessary clearance to complete the 

purchase. 

For questions regarding federal regulations, please contact the Regulatory 

Office of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, St. Paul, MN, (651) 

726-0220. 

Statutory Provisions 
Unassociated Sections are Omitted 

Chapter 22-1 

Definitions and General Provisions 

§ 22-1-2  Definition of terms.  Terms used in this title mean: 

 (4) "Antique firearm," any firearm, including any firearm with a 

matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition 

system, manufactured before 1899, and any replica of any 

firearm described in this section if such replica is not designed 

or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed 

ammunition or if it uses rimfire or conventional centerfire 

fixed ammunition which is no longer manufactured in the 

United States and which is not readily available in the ordinary 

channels of commercial trade;  

(6) "Concealed," any firearm that is totally hidden from view. If 

any part of the firearm is capable of being seen, it is not 

concealed;  

(8) "Controlled weapon" includes any firearm silencer, machine 

gun, or short shotgun, as those terms are defined in 

subdivisions (17), (23), and (46) of this section;  

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/docs/4473-part-1-firearms-transaction-record-over-counter-atf-form-53009/download
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-1&Type=StatuteChapter
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-1-2&Type=Statute
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(9) "Crime of violence," any of the following crimes or an attempt 

to commit, or a conspiracy to commit, or a solicitation to 

commit any of the following crimes: murder, manslaughter, 

rape, aggravated assault, riot, robbery, burglary in the first 

degree, arson, kidnapping, felony sexual contact as defined in 

§ 22-22-7, felony child abuse as defined in § 26-10-1, or any 

other felony in the commission of which the perpetrator used 

force, or was armed with a dangerous weapon, or used any 

explosive or destructive device; 

(10) "Dangerous weapon" or "deadly weapon," any firearm, stun 

gun, knife, or device, instrument, material, or substance, 

whether animate or inanimate, which is calculated or designed 

to inflict death or serious bodily harm, or by the manner in 

which it is used is likely to inflict death or serious bodily harm;  

(16) "Firearm," any weapon from which a projectile or projectiles 

may be discharged by gunpowder. As used in this subdivision, 

the term, gunpowder, includes any propellant that upon 

oxidization emits heat and light and is commonly used in 

firearms cartridges;  

(17) "Firearm silencer," any instrument, attachment, weapon or 

appliance for causing the firing of any gun, revolver, pistol, or 

other firearm to be silent, or intended to lessen or muffle the 

noise of the firing of any such weapon;  

(19) "Intoxication," a disturbance of mental or physical capacities 

resulting from the introduction of substances into the body. 

Intoxication is not, in itself, a mental disease or defect;  

(20) "Law enforcement officer," any officer, prosecutor, or 

employee of the state or any of its political subdivisions or of 

the United States, or, while on duty, an agent or employee of 

a railroad or express company or security personnel of an 

airline or airport, who is responsible for the prevention, 

detection, or prosecution of crimes, for the enforcement of the 

criminal or highway traffic laws of the state, or for the 

supervision of confined persons or those persons on 

supervised release or probation; 

(21) "Machine gun," any firearm, whatever its size and usual 

designation, that automatically discharges two or more 

cartridges by a single function of the firing device;  

(32) "Pistol," any firearm with a barrel less than sixteen inches in 

length, designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the 

action of an explosive;  
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(44) "Seller," any person or employee engaged in the business of 

selling pistols at retail;  

(44A) "Serious bodily injury," such injury as is grave and not trivial, 

and gives rise to apprehension of danger to life, health, or 

limb. 

(45) "Short rifle," any rifle having a barrel less than sixteen inches 

long, or an overall length of less than twenty-six inches;  

(46) "Short shotgun," any shotgun having a barrel less than 

eighteen inches long or an overall length of less than twenty-

six inches;  

(50) "Stun gun," any battery-powered, pulsed electrical device of 

high voltage and low or no amperage that can disrupt the 

central nervous system and cause temporary loss of voluntary 

muscle control of a person;  

Chapter 22-14 
Unlawful Use of Weapons 

§ 22-14-5  Possession of firearm with altered serial number-Felony-

Exception. Any person who possesses any firearm on which the 

manufacturer's serial number has been changed, altered, removed or 

obliterated is guilty of a Class 6 felony. 

The provisions of this section do not apply to persons who have applied for a 

new serial number pursuant to § 23-7-43. 

§ 22-14-6  Possession of controlled weapon-Felony-Exceptions. Any 

person who knowingly possesses a controlled weapon is guilty of a Class 6 

felony. However, the provisions of this section do not apply to any person 

who: 

(1) Is a law enforcement officer or member of the armed forces of 

the United States or South Dakota National Guard acting in 

the lawful discharge of duties;  

(2) Has a valid state or federal license issued pursuant to law for 

such weapon or has registered such weapon with the proper 

state or federal authority pursuant to law;  

(3) Possesses a controlled weapon briefly after having found it or 

taken it from an offender; or  

(4) Possesses a controlled weapon, except a machine gun or short 

shotgun, under circumstances which negate any purpose or 

likelihood that the weapon would be used unlawfully.  

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14&Type=StatuteChapter
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-5&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-6&Type=Statute
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§ 22-14-7  Reckless discharge of firearm or shooting of bow and arrow-

Leaving trip device-Possession of loaded firearm while intoxicated-

Misdemeanor. Any person who:  

(1) Recklessly discharges a firearm or recklessly shoots a bow and 

arrow;  

(2) Sets a device designed to activate a weapon upon being tripped 

or approached, and leaves the device unmarked or unattended 

by a competent person; or  

(3) Has in personal possession a loaded firearm while intoxicated; 

is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

§ 22-14-8  Concealment of weapon with intent to commit felony-Felony.  

Any person who conceals on or about his person a controlled or dangerous 

weapon with intent to commit a felony is guilty of a Class 5 felony. 

§ 22-14-9.2  Holders of permits from reciprocal states subject to South 

Dakota laws-Misdemeanor. Any person who is permitted to carry a 

concealed pistol in a state with which the secretary of state has entered into a 

reciprocity agreement pursuant to § § 23-7-7.3, 23-7-7, 23-7-7.1, and 23-7-8 

may carry a concealed pistol in this state if the permit holder carries the pistol 

in compliance with the laws of this state. A violation of this section is a Class 

1 misdemeanor. 

§ 22-14-12  Commission of felony while armed with firearms-Felony-

Minimum sentences-Consecutive sentencing-Execution of sentence. Any 

person who commits or attempts to commit any felony while armed with a 

firearm, including a machine gun or short shotgun, is guilty of a Class 2 felony 

for the first conviction. A second or subsequent conviction is a Class 1 felony. 

The sentence imposed for a first conviction under this section shall carry a 

minimum sentence of imprisonment in the state penitentiary of five years. In 

case of a second or subsequent conviction under this section such person shall 

be sentenced to a minimum imprisonment of ten years in the penitentiary.  

Any sentence imposed under this section shall be consecutive to any other 

sentences imposed for a violation of the principal felony. The court may not 

place on probation, suspend the execution of the sentence, or suspend the 

imposition of the sentence of any person convicted of a violation of this 

section.  

§ 22-14-14  Armed felony to be charged separately from principal felony 

charge-No offense charged when dangerous weapon an element of 

principal felony. A violation of § 22-14-12 shall be charged in the indictment 

or information as a separate count in addition to the principal felony or 

attempted felony alleged to have been committed. No offense may be charged 

under those sections if the use of a dangerous weapon is a necessary element 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-7&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-8&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-9.2&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-12&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-14&Type=Statute
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of the principal felony alleged to have been committed or attempted.  

§ 22-14-15  Possession of firearm by one with prior violent crime 

conviction or certain drug-related conviction-Felony-Fifteen-year period. 

No person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of a crime of 

violence or a felony pursuant to § 22-42-2, 22-42-3, 22-42-4, 22-42-7, 22-42-

8, 22-42-9, 22-42-10 or 22-42-19, may possess or have control of a firearm. 

A violation of this section is a Class 6 felony. The provisions of this section 

do not apply to any person who was last discharged from prison, jail, 

probation, or parole more than fifteen years prior to the commission of the 

principal offense. 

§ 22-14-15.1  Possession of firearm by one with prior drug conviction-

Felony-Exception. No person who has been convicted of a felony under 

chapter 22-42 or of a felony for a crime with the same elements in another 

state may possess or have control of a firearm. A violation of this section is a 

Class 6 felony. The provisions of this section do not apply to any person who 

was last discharged from prison, jail, probation, or parole, for a felony under 

chapter 22-42 more than five years prior to the commission of the principal 

offense and is not subject to the restrictions in § 22-14-15. 

§ 22-14-15.2  Possession of firearm by one convicted of misdemeanor 

crime involving domestic violence-Misdemeanor-Civil rights restored-

Repeal of section-Order restoring rights. No person who has been 

convicted of any misdemeanor crime involving an act of domestic violence 

may possess or have control of a firearm for a period of one year from the date 

of conviction. Any violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor. At the 

end of the one year period, any civil rights lost as a result of this provision 

shall be restored. Any person who has lost their right to possess or have control 

of a firearm as a result of a misdemeanor conviction involving an act of 

domestic violence, prior to July 1, 2005, shall be restored to those civil rights 

one year after July 1, 2005. This section shall be repealed on the date when 

any federal law restricting the right to possess firearms for misdemeanor 

domestic violence convictions is repealed. 

Once eligible under the statute, a person convicted under this section may 

petition the convicting court for an order reflecting the restoration of any 

firearm rights lost, if the person has not been convicted within the prior year 

of a crime for which firearm rights have been lost. A petition filed under this 

section shall be verified by the petitioner and served upon the states attorney 

in the county where the conviction occurred. Thirty days after service upon 
the states attorney, the court shall enter the order, if the court finds that the 

petitioner is eligible for relief under this section. (This section is repealed 

under its own terms on the date when any federal law restricting the right to 

possess firearms for misdemeanor domestic violence convictions is repealed.) 

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-15&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-15.1&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-15.2&Type=Statute
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§ 22-14-16  Providing firearm to person with known prior violent crime 

conviction-Felony. Any person who knows that another person is prohibited 

by § 22-14-15 or § 22-14-15.1 from possessing a firearm, and who knowingly 

gives, loans, or sells a firearm to that person is guilty of a Class 6 felony.  

§ 22-14-17  Firearms incapable of discharge exempt. The provisions of this 

chapter do not apply to any firearm which has been permanently altered so it 

is incapable of being discharged.  

§ 22-14-20  Discharge of firearm at occupied structure or motor vehicle-

Felony. Any person who willfully, knowingly and illegally discharges a 

firearm at an occupied structure or motor vehicle is guilty of a Class 3 felony.  

§ 22-14-21  Discharge of firearm from a moving motor vehicle within 

municipality-Felony. Any person who willfully, knowingly and illegally 

discharges a firearm from a moving motor vehicle within the incorporated 

limits of a municipality under circumstances not constituting a violation of § 

22-14-20 is guilty of a Class 6 felony.  

§ 22-14-22  County courthouse and state capitol defined. For the purposes 

of § 22-14-23 to § 22-14-28, inclusive:  

(1) The term, county courthouse, means any building occupied for 

the public sessions of a circuit court, with its various offices, 

including any building appended to or used as a supplementary 

structure to a county courthouse; and 

(2) The term, state capitol, includes any building appended to or 

used as a supplementary structure to the state capitol.  

§ 22-14-23  Possession in county courthouse or state capitol—

Misdemeanor. Except as provided in § 22-14-24, any person who knowingly 

possesses or causes to be present any firearm or other dangerous weapon, in 

any county courthouse or in the state capitol, or attempts to do so, is guilty of 

a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

§ 22-14-24  Possession in a county courthouse or state capitol--

Exceptions from penalty. The provisions of § 22-14-23 do not apply to:  

(1) The lawful performance of official duties by an officer, agent 

or employee of the United States, the state, political 

subdivision  thereof, or a municipality, who is authorized by 

law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, 

investigation, or prosecution of any violation of law or who is 

an officer of the court;  

(2) The possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon by a 

judge or magistrate;  

(3) The possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon by a 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-16&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-17&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-20&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-21&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-22&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-23&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-24&Type=Statute
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federal or state official or by a member of the armed services, 

if such possession is authorized by law;  

(4) The possession of a concealed pistol in the state capitol by a 

qualified law enforcement officer or a qualified retired law 

enforcement officer in accordance with the Law Enforcement 

Officers Safety Act of 2004, 18 U.S.C. § 926B-C; 

(5) The possession of a concealed pistol anywhere in the state 

capitol, other than in the Supreme Court chamber or other 

access-controlled private office under the supervision of 

security personnel, by any person not otherwise referenced in 

this section, provided: 

(a) The person possessing the concealed pistol holds an 

enhanced permit issued in accordance with § 23-7-

53; 

(b) At least twenty-four hours prior to initially entering 

the state capitol with a concealed pistol, the person 

notifies the superintendent of the Division of 

Highway Patrol, orally or in writing, that the person 

intends to possess a concealed pistol in the state 

capitol; and 

(c) The notification required by this subdivision:  

(i)  Includes the date on which or the range of dates 

during which the person intends to possess a 

concealed pistol in the state capitol, provided the 

range of dates may not extend beyond December 

thirty-first of each year; and 

(ii) May be renewed, as necessary and without limit; 

(6) The possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon in a 

county courthouse by any person who is employed by the 

county or the state and assigned to work in the county 

courthouse, provided the person is not an inmate, and other 

than in any area in use under the supervision of the Unified 

Judicial System or employees of the Unified Judicial System; 

and 

(7) The lawful carrying of a firearm or other dangerous weapon in 
a county courthouse incident to a hunter safety or a gun safety 

course or for any other lawful purposes. 

§ 22-14-25  Power of court to punish for contempt and to promulgate 

rules. Except for the authorizations set forth in § 22-14-24, nothing in this 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=22-14-25&Type=Statute
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chapter limits the power of a court to punish for contempt or to  promulgate 

rules or orders regulating, restricting or prohibiting the possession of 

weapons, within any building housing such court or any of its proceedings, or 

upon any grounds pertinent to such building.  

§ 22-14-26  Notice to be posted at county courthouse and state capitol. 

Notice of the provisions of § 22-14-23 shall be posted conspicuously at each 

public entrance to a county courthouse and the state capitol.  

§ 22-14-27  Concealed pistol permit not a defense. A defendant to a 

prosecution under § 22-14-23 may not claim as a defense that the defendant 

was the holder of a permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under chapter 23-

7.  

§ 22-14-28  Waiver of provisions. By a majority of the members-elect, the 

county commission in any county may elect to waive the provisions of § 22-

14-23 that apply to a county courthouse. A waiver by the county commission 

in accordance with this section supersedes subdivision 22-14-24(6) governing 

county employees. 

Chapter 23-7 
Firearms Control 

§ 23-7-1  Definitions applicable to chapter. Terms used in this chapter, 

unless the context otherwise requires, mean:  

(1) “Antique firearm,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 

(4);  

(2) “Concealed,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (6);  

(3) “Crime of violence,” an action as defined in subdivision 22-1-

2 (9);  

(4) “Pistol,” a firearm as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (32);  

(5) “Seller,” a person as defined in subdivision 22-1-2 (44).  

§ 23-7-1.1  Antique or nondischargeable firearms excepted. This chapter 

shall not apply to antique firearms or to firearms which have been permanently 

altered so they are incapable of being discharged.  

§ 23-7-7  Permit to carry concealed pistol-Background investigation-

Carrying pistol without permit not prohibited. A permit to carry a 

concealed pistol shall be issued to any person by the sheriff of the county in 

which the applicant resides. The permit shall be valid throughout the state and 

shall be issued pursuant to § 23-7-7.1. For purposes of verifying the 

qualifications of an applicant, prior to issuing a permit, the sheriff shall 

execute, and the applicant shall pass, a background investigation, including a 
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computer check of available on-line records and the National Instant Criminal 

Background Check. The issuance of a permit to carry a concealed pistol under 

this chapter, or the recognition of nonresident permits to carry a concealed 

pistol under § 23-7-7.4, does not impose a general prohibition on the carry of 

a pistol without a permit.  

§ 23-7-7.1 Requirements for issuance of temporary permit 

Time requirement-Appeal of denial. A temporary permit to carry a 

concealed pistol shall be issued to a person under § 23-7-7 within five days of 

application if the person: 

(1) Is eighteen years of age or older; 

(2) Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted 

of a felony or a crime of violence; 

(3) Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition; 

(4) Has no history of violence;  

(5) Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a danger to 

others or a danger to self as defined in § 27A-1-1 or is not 

currently adjudged mentally incompetent; 

(6) Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where 

the  

application is being made for at least thirty days immediately 

preceding the date of the application; 

(7) Has had no violation of chapter 23-7, 22-14, or 22-42 

constituting a felony or misdemeanor in the five years 

preceding the date of application or is not currently charged 

under indictment or information for such an offense; 

(8) Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; and 

(9) Is not a fugitive from justice; and 

(10) Is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) as 

amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. § 922(n) as 

amended to October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing or 

transporting a firearm, and passes a National Instant Criminal 

Background Check. 

A person denied a permit may appeal to the circuit court pursuant to chapter 

§ 1-26. 

§ 23-7-7.2  Liability of issuing authority. An issuing authority that has 

issued a permit to carry a concealed pistol in accordance with this chapter may 

not be held civilly liable to any person or the person’s estate for any   

injury suffered, including any action for wrongful death or property damage, 
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because the issuing authority issued the permit. For purposes of this section, 

the Division of Criminal Investigation is an issuing authority when issuing a 

certificate of completion pursuant to § 23-7-59.  

§ 23-7-7.3  Reciprocity with other states-Conditions. The attorney general 

shall compare South Dakota permit issuance statutes with the permit issuance 

statutes in states with which reciprocity is sought or requested in order to 

determine whether the laws of the other state meet or exceed the requirements 

of this chapter for the issuance of a permit.  

The secretary of state may enter into reciprocity agreements with other states 

after the attorney general has notified the secretary of state that the other states' 

laws meet or exceed the provisions of this chapter. 

§ 23-7-7.4  Nonresident permit to carry concealed pistol valid in South 

Dakota-Permit not required. Any valid permit to carry a concealed pistol, 

issued to a nonresident of South Dakota, is valid in South Dakota according 

to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue, but only to the extent that 

the terms of issuance comply with any appropriate South Dakota statute or 

promulgated rule.  This section does not require a nonresident of this state 

who may lawfully possess a pistol to have a permit in order to carry a 

concealed pistol in this state. 

§ 23-7-7.5  Active duty military personnel and spouses. Any person who is 

active duty military, or the spouse of a person who is active duty military, with 

a home of record in South Dakota is considered to have met the provisions of 

subdivision § 23-7-7.1(6). 

§ 23-7-7.6  Time requirement for INTERPOL check. Notwithstanding the 

five day requirement provided in § 23-7-7.1, if the background investigation 

under § 23-7-7 requires an international criminal history check through 

INTERPOL, the sheriff shall issue a temporary permit to carry a concealed 

pistol within three business days of receiving a response from INTERPOL if 

the applicant otherwise meets the requirements of § 23-7-7.1. 

§ 23-7-8  Application for permit, enhanced permit, or gold card permit to 

carry concealed pistol. The application for a permit to carry a concealed 

pistol, enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol, or a gold card permit to 

carry a concealed pistol shall be filed either electronically or in triplicate on a 

form prescribed by the secretary of state. The application shall require the 

applicant's complete name, address, occupation, place and date of birth, 

country of citizenship, physical description, a statement that the applicant has 

never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a crime of 

violence, a sworn statement that the information on the application is true and 

correct, and the applicant's signature. If the applicant is not a United States 

citizen, the application shall require any alien or admission number issued by 

the United States Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement. If filed 
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in triplicate, the original shall be delivered to the applicant as the temporary 

permit, the duplicate shall within seven days be sent by first class mail to the 

secretary of state who shall issue the official permit, and the triplicate shall be 

preserved for five years by the authority issuing the permit. If the application 

is filed electronically, two copies shall be made and each shall be signed by 

the applicant. One copy shall be delivered to the applicant as the temporary 

permit, and the other copy shall be preserved for five years by the authority 

issuing the permit. 

§ 23-7-8.1  Form and contents of permit, enhanced permit, and gold card 

permit. The secretary of state shall prescribe the form of the permit to carry 

a concealed pistol, the form of the enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol, 

and the form of the gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol pursuant to § 

23-7-8. Each permit shall list the applicant's name, address, the expiration 

date, and the issuance date of the permit. The enhanced permit to carry a 

concealed pistol shall clearly designate that the permit is enhanced and the 

gold card permit shall clearly designate that it is a gold card permit to carry a 

concealed pistol. Nothing in this section prevents any law enforcement 

officer, Department of Corrections employee, parole agent, security guard 

employed on the premises, or any other public official, with the written 

permission of the sheriff, from carrying a concealed weapon in the 

performance of that person’s duties. 

§ 23-7-8.2  Duration of permit-Fee. The permit to carry a concealed pistol 

is valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance. The fee for issuing 

the permit is ten dollars. The local authority shall collect the fee. Seven dollars 

of the fee shall be remitted to the secretary of state and three dollars shall be 

deposited in the general fund of the county or municipality issuing the permit. 

§ 23-7-8.3  Permit issued to specific person-Transfer prohibited. A permit 

to carry a concealed pistol shall be issued to a specific person only and may 

not be transferred from one person to another.  

§ 23-7-8.4  Revocation of permit-Procedure. A prosecuting attorney, upon 

application of a law enforcement officer, may apply to the circuit court for an 

order to show cause why a person's permit to carry a concealed pistol should 

not be revoked. Upon order of the court, after hearing, the permit shall be 

revoked and the holder of the permit shall immediately surrender the permit 

to the sheriff of the county in which he resides.  

§ 23-7-8.6  List, record, or registry of privately owned firearms, owners 

of firearms, or holders of permits prohibited. No state agency, political 
subdivision, official, agent, or employee of any state agency or political 

subdivision may knowingly keep or cause to be kept any list, record, or 

registry of privately owned firearms or any list, record, or registry of the 

owners of those firearms, or any list, record, or registry of holders of permits 

to carry a concealed pistol. 
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§ 23-7-8.7  Application of firearm confidentiality provisions. The 

provisions of § 23-7-8.6 do not apply to: 

(1) Records of firearms that have been used in committing any 

crime; 

(2) Permits to carry a concealed pistol records relating to any 

person who has been convicted of a felony; 

(3) Records of the serial numbers of firearms that have been 

reported stolen that are retained for a period not in excess of 

ten days after such firearms are recovered and returned to the 

lawful owner. However, official documentation recording the 

theft of a recovered weapon may be maintained no longer than 

the balance of the year entered and two additional years; 

(4) Firearm records that must be retained by firearm dealers under 

federal law, including copies of such records transmitted to 

law enforcement agencies; 

(5) Any on duty law enforcement officer while conducting routine 

verification of the validity of a permit to carry a concealed 

pistol;  

(6) The secretary of state for the issuance of concealed pistol 

permits pursuant to chapter 23-7 and any access reasonably 

necessary to verify information with regard to specific permits 

individually; and 

(7) The preservation of the triplicate copy of the application for a 

permit to carry a concealed pistol by the authority issuing the 

permit as required by § 23-7-8. 

§ 23-7-8.8  Law enforcement officer not restricted in performance of 

official duty under specified circumstances. The provisions of §§ 23-7-8.6 

to 23-7-8.9, inclusive, do not restrict any law enforcement officer in the 

performance of any official duty if the law enforcement officer is in the 

immediate physical presence of a permit holder who has either presented a 

permit to the officer or declared to the officer that he or she is a permit holder. 

§ 23-7-8.9  Retention of data by law enforcement officer limited. The 

provisions of §§ 23-7-8.6 to 23-7-8.9, inclusive, do specifically prohibit any 

law enforcement officer from retaining any notes, data, or pieces of 

information, either collectively or individually, unless the retention of such 
notes, data, or pieces of information is pertinent to a specific ongoing 

investigation or prosecution. Access by law enforcement to information 

necessary to perform a periodic National Instant Criminal Background Check 

of gold card or enhanced pistol permit holders under § 23-7-68 is authorized. 
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§ 23-7-8.10  Access restricted to application, record, or registry of holders 

of permits. No state agency, political subdivision, official, agent, employee 

of any state agency or political subdivision, may knowingly release or permit 

access to any application, list, record or registry of applicants or holders of 

permits to carry a concealed pistol to any person except another law 

enforcement agency or the secretary of state. 

§ 23-7-8.11  Renewal of regular permit to carry concealed pistol. The 

holder of the regular permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the permit 

through the sheriff of the county where the holder resides for a period 

beginning ninety days before the permit expires. The holder shall pay a ten-

dollar renewal fee and pass a background investigation, including a computer 

check of available online records and the National Instant Criminal 

Background Check, required under § 23-3 7-7 prior to the renewal of the 

permit. The renewal fee shall be distributed as set forth in § 23-7-8.2. 

§ 23-7-8.12  Renewal of regular concealed carry permit by deployed 

military service member. If a South Dakota resident holds a regular 

concealed carry permit issued in accordance with § 23-7-7, and is a member 

of a state National Guard unit, the Armed Forces of the United States, or the 

Armed Forces Reserves of the United States, and the holder's permit expires 

during an active duty military assignment or deployment outside of the 

holder's state of residence, the holder may request a renewal form application 

from the Office of the Secretary of State. The secretary shall prescribe the 

contents of the application form and any accompanying materials. The 

application shall be accompanied by documentation of the deployment, 

including dates and location of the deployment if available for disclosure; an 

affidavit signed by the holder's commanding officer or unit commander 

attesting to the identity of the holder and the fact the holder is unable to return 

to the state to renew; and a copy of a current, valid, government-issued 

identification card with a photograph of the holder. The secretary shall specify 

the contents of the affidavit. The holder shall mail the application, containing 

original signatures in ink, to the sheriff in the holder's county of residence. 

The sheriff shall conduct the background investigation, including a computer 

check of available online records and the National Instant Criminal 

Background Check required under § 23-7-7, within five days of receipt of the 

military application renewal form. The original signature of the applicant on 

the renewal form shall serve as the applicant's signature for the temporary 

permit.  

§ 23-7-8.13  Grace period for renewal of permit. Upon the expiration of a 

permit to carry a concealed pistol that was issued pursuant to this chapter, the 

permit holder has a thirty-day grace period to renew the permit. During the 

grace period, the permit holder may continue to carry a concealed pistol. 
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§ 23-7-8.14  Grace period not applicable to certain permit holders. The 

grace period provided in § 23-7-8.13 does not apply to any permit holder who 

committed a crime that would make it unlawful for the permit holder to own 

or possess a gun, or a permit holder who attempted to renew the holder's 

permit, but was denied renewal upon application for a reason provided in § 

23-7-7.1. 

§ 23-7-9  Pistol to be delivered wrapped and unloaded-Violation as 

misdemeanor. Any pistol that is delivered shall be securely wrapped and 

shall be unloaded. A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

§ 23-7-11  Regulation does not apply to sale of pistols at wholesale. 

Sections 23-7-7 to 23-7-12, inclusive, do not apply to sales at wholesale.  

§ 23-7-12  False information or false evidence of identity to secure pistol 

or permit as felony. No person, in purchasing or otherwise securing delivery 

of a pistol or in applying for a permit to carry a concealed pistol, may give 

false information or offer false evidence of his identity. A violation of this 

section is a Class 6 felony.  

§ 23-7-18  Sale of pistol by retail dealer-Restrictions-Misdemeanor. No 

pistol shall be sold in violation of any provisions of this chapter, nor shall a 

pistol be sold under any circumstances unless the purchaser is personally 

known to the seller or shall present clear evidence of his identity. A violation 

of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.   

§ 23-7-43  New serial number engraved or stamped on firearm. Upon 

application by an owner of a firearm, the Director of the Division of Criminal 

Investigation shall engrave or stamp a new serial number on any firearm on 

which the manufacturer's serial number has been changed, altered, removed 

or obliterated.  

§ 23-7-44  Possession of pistols by minors prohibited-Misdemeanor. No 

person under the age of eighteen years may knowingly possess a pistol. A 

violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

§ 23-7-45  Possession of pistols by minors--Exceptions to prohibitions. The 

provisions of § 23-7-44 are not applicable to a minor and a criminal prosecution 

for possession of a pistol brought after transfer pursuant to chapter 26-11 is not 

applicable to a minor if the minor had the prior written consent of the minor's 

parent or guardian to possess the pistol, and: 

(1) The minor was on premises owned or leased by the minor or 
the minor's parent, guardian, or immediate family member;  

(2) The minor was in the presence of a licensed or accredited gun 

safety instructor; or  
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(3) The pistol was being used for farming, ranching, hunting, 

trapping, target shooting, or gun safety instruction. 

§ 23-7-46  Prohibited transfer of firearms and ammunition to juveniles-

Felony. No person may sell, transfer, give, loan, furnish, or deliver a firearm 

or firearm ammunition to any person under the age of eighteen years if such 

person knows or reasonably believes that the minor recipient of the transfer 

intended, at the time of transfer, to use the firearm or ammunition in the 

commission or attempted commission of a crime of violence as defined in 

subdivision 22-1-2(9). The affirmative defenses contained in chapter 23-7 do 

not apply to a prosecution under this section. A violation of this section is a 

Class 5 felony.  

§ 23-7-70  Carrying concealed pistol in malt or alcoholic beverage 

establishment prohibited. A person may not carry a concealed pistol in any 

licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage establishment that 

derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of malt or alcoholic 

beverages. 

§ 23-7-71  Minors prohibited from carrying concealed pistol except with 

parent or guardian. A person who is under the age of eighteen years of age 

may not carry a concealed pistol except in the presence of a parent or legal 

guardian.  

Enhanced and Gold Card Permits 

§ 23-7-53  Optional enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol. Contents 

of application. An applicant may submit an application to the sheriff of the 

county in which the applicant resides for an optional enhanced permit to carry 

a concealed pistol. The application shall include: 

(1) The application for the optional enhanced permit to carry a 

concealed pistol; 

(2) A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental 

agency or entity authorized to receive such information, for a 

state, national, and international criminal history background 

check; 

(3) An authorization to run a fingerprint background check; 

(4) A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint 
background check and, if the sheriff takes the fingerprints, the 

sheriff shall secure the fingerprints at no additional charge to 

the applicant;   
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(5) A separate application fee of one hundred dollars for the 

optional permit to carry a concealed pistol which shall be 

distributed fifty percent to the sheriff and fifty percent to the 

secretary of state to be used by the secretary of state to 

administer the concealed carry program; and 

(6) Proof that the applicant: 

(a) Has Successfully completed a qualifying handgun 

course as define in § 23-7-58, within the preceding 

twelve months; or  

(b)  Is a current or former law enforcement officer and 

has, within the preceding twelve months, qualified 

or requalified on a certified shooting course 

administered by a firearms instructor approved by 

the Law Enforcement Officers Standards 

Commission.  

The sheriff shall forward the copy of the applicant's fingerprints, the 

applicant's authorization for processing a fingerprint background check, and 

the payment for the fingerprint background check to the Division of Criminal 

Investigation for processing. 

§ 23-7-54  Temporary enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol—

Requirements-Records. The sheriff shall retain the application and other 

documents until the sheriff receives the results of the background checks 

required pursuant to § 23-7-53. Within seven days following receipt of a 

confirmation that the applicant passed each criminal background check 

required pursuant to this section and § 23-7-53, the sheriff shall file the 

application with the secretary of state pursuant to § 23-7-8. 

If the applicant submits an application pursuant to § 23-7-53, meets the 

requirements of § 23-7-7.1, is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. 

922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as amended to 

October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing, or transporting a firearm, 

passes the required fingerprint background check, and passes a National 

Instant Criminal Background Check, the sheriff of the county where the 

applicant submitted the application shall, within thirty days of application, 

issue the applicant a temporary enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol. 

The temporary permit must clearly designate that the permit is enhanced. 

§ 23-7-54.1  Fingerprint and background check for holder of enhanced 

permit issued from July 1, 2015, through December 31, 2016. For any 

person holding an enhanced concealed carry permit, issued from July 1, 2015, 

to December 31, 2016, inclusive, an additional fingerprint background check 

and National Instant Criminal Background Check must be conducted through 
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the sheriff of the county in which the person resides. The additional 

background check must be conducted pursuant to § 23-7-54. 

Following receipt of the confirmation that the person passed each criminal 

background check pursuant to §§ 23-7-53 and 23-7-54, the sheriff shall 

submit an authorization to reissue the person's enhanced concealed carry 

permit with the secretary of state. 

A permit reissued under this section is valid only for five years from the date 

of its original issuance and upon its expiration, must be renewed in accordance 

with § 23-7-56. 

No additional charge may be imposed for a reissuance under this section. 

§ 23-7-54.2  Age requirement for enhanced permit--Temporary restricted 

enhanced permit for individuals age eighteen to twenty.  Notwithstanding 

any other law, the age requirement for the enhanced permit is for twenty-one 

years of age or older. 

Any applicant between eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive, who meets 

the requirements of §§ 23-7-53 and 23-7-54 and any other specified 

requirements and qualifications and upon the approval from the sheriff of the 

county where the applicant submitted the application shall be issued a 

temporary restricted enhanced permit that clearly designates the restricted 

enhanced permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive. 

§ 23-7-54.3  New temporary restricted enhanced permit substituted for 

permit issued between July 1, 2015 and March 9, 2018. Any individual 

between eighteen and twenty years of age, inclusive, holding an enhanced 

concealed carry permit, issued between July 1, 2015, and March 9, 2018, shall 

be issued a new temporary restricted enhanced permit that designates the 

permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive. 

§ 23-7-54.4  Request for unrestricted enhanced permit upon reaching age 

twenty-one. A person holding an unexpired restricted enhanced permit who 

has reached the age of twenty-one may submit a written request to the 

secretary of state for an unrestricted enhanced permit. The unrestricted 

enhanced permit shall be issued at no additional cost. 

§ 23-7-55  Duration of enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol - 

Identification required. An enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol is 

valid for five years and is only valid if carried with a government issued form 

of identification that includes a picture of the permit holder. 

§ 23-7-56  Renewal of enhanced permit to carry concealed pistol. A person 

who holds an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the 

permit through the sheriff of the county in which the person resides. The 

period for renewal begins one-hundred eighty days before the permit expires 

and ends thirty days after the permit expires. 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-54.2&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-54.3&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-54.4&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-55&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-56&Type=Statute
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In order to renew an enhanced permit a person shall: 

(1) Pay a renewal fee in the amount of fifty dollars; 

(2) Pay the fee for a fingerprint background check; 

(3) Pass a fingerprint background check and a National Instant 

Criminal Background Check; and 

(4) Present proof that during the period of renewal set forth in this 

section, the person: 

(a) Successfully completed the live fire component of a 

qualifying handgun course defined in § 23-7-58; 

(b) Received instruction regarding the use of force 

standards; and 

(c) Received instruction regarding relevant criminal 

statutory changes. 

Fifty percent of the renewal fee required by this section must be retained by 

the sheriff. The remaining fifty percent of the renewal fee required by this 

section must be forwarded to the secretary of state for use in administering the 

concealed carry permitting process. 

If a person fails to renew an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol during 

the period set forth in this section, the permit is deemed to be invalid. In order 

to obtain an enhanced permit thereafter, the person shall submit an application 

and meet all requirements set forth in § 23-7-53. 

§ 23-7-57  References, rights, and responsibilities related to permit to 

carry concealed pistol apply to enhanced permit and gold card permit. 

Unless otherwise specified, the references, rights, and responsibilities in this 

chapter related to a permit to carry a concealed pistol also apply to an 

enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol and a gold card permit to carry a 

concealed pistol. 

§ 23-7-58  Qualifying handgun course. A qualifying handgun course is any 

handgun course that is taught by a National Rifle Association certified 

instructor who also holds a current certificate of completion from the South 

Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation on the use of force. The qualifying 

handgun course must include instruction in each of the following: 

(1) South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force;  

(2) The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of 

handguns; 

(3) Self-defense principles; and 

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=23-7-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=23-7-53
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-57&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-58&Type=Statute
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(4) Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight 

rounds of ammunition by the student. 

§ 23-7-59  Use of force course for instructors. The Division of Criminal 

Investigation shall offer at least one course focused on the use of force, 

including applicable state laws, per year, open to National Rifle Association 

certified instructors. The Division of Criminal Investigation shall develop the 

use of force course and may promulgate rules pursuant to chapter 1-26 to 

establish the course standards for the issuance of a certificate of completion, 

establish a fee for the course not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars, and to 

implement the course. 

§ 23-7-60  Application for gold card permit to carry concealed pistol. An 

applicant may submit an application to the sheriff of the county in which the 

applicant resides for a gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol. The 

application shall include: 

(1) The application for the gold card permit to carry a concealed 

pistol; 

(2) A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental 

agency or entity authorized to receive such information, for a 

state, national, and international criminal history background 

check; 

(3) An authorization to run a fingerprint background check; 

(4) A separate payment for the cost of processing the fingerprint 

background check; and  

(5) A separate application fee of seventy dollars for the gold card 

permit to carry a concealed pistol. Thirty dollars of the fee 

shall be distributed to the sheriff, thirty-four dollars shall be 

distributed to the Department of Public Safety, and six dollars 

to the secretary of state to be used by the secretary of state to 

administer the concealed carry program. 

The sheriff shall forward the copy of the applicant's fingerprints, the 

applicant's authorization for processing a fingerprint background check, and 

the payment for the fingerprint background check to the Division of Criminal 

Investigation for processing. 

23-7-61  Temporary gold card permit to carry concealed pistol--

Requirements--Records. The sheriff shall retain the application and other 

documents until the sheriff receives the results of the background checks 

required pursuant to § 23-7-60. Within seven days following receipt of a 

confirmation that the applicant passed each criminal background check 

required pursuant to this section and § 23-7-60, the sheriff shall file the 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-59&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-60&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-61&Type=Statute
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application with the secretary of state pursuant to § 23-7-8. 

If the applicant submits an application pursuant to § 23-7-8, meets the 

requirements of § 23-7-7.1, is not otherwise prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. 

922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as amended to 

October 26, 2005, from receiving, possessing, or transporting a firearm, 

passes the required fingerprint background check, and passes a National 

Instant Criminal Background Check, the sheriff of  the county of the 

application shall, within thirty days of application, issue the applicant a 

temporary gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol. The temporary permit 

must clearly designate that the permit is a gold card permit. 

§ 23-7-62  Renewal of gold card permit to carry concealed pistol. The 

holder of the gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the permit 

through the sheriff of the county where the holder resides, no earlier than 

ninety days prior to the expiration of the permit. The holder shall pay a seventy 

dollar renewal fee and pass a fingerprint background check and a National 

Instant Criminal Background Check pursuant to § 23-7-61 prior to the renewal 

of the permit. The renewal fee shall be distributed as set forth in subdivision 

23-7-60(5).  

§ 23-7-63  Duration of gold card permit to carry concealed pistol. The gold 

card permit to carry a concealed pistol is valid for a period of five years from 

the date of issuance. 

§ 23-7-64  Revocation of gold card or enhanced permit to carry concealed 

pistol-Sheriff to secure return of permit--Petition for return of permit. A 

gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol or an enhanced permit to carry a 

concealed pistol is automatically revoked upon failure to maintain the 

requirements under § 23-7-7.1 or if the gold card or enhanced permit holder 

becomes prohibited by state law, 18 U.S.C. 922(g) as amended to October 26, 

2005, or 18 U.S.C. 922(n) as amended to October 26, 2005, from receiving, 

possessing, or transporting a firearm. 

Upon such occurrence, the permit holder shall immediately return the gold 

card or enhanced concealed pistol permit to the county sheriff of the permit 

holder's county of residence. If the permit has not been returned, upon learning 

that a permit holder is ineligible for a gold card or enhanced permit for any 

violent crime or for a crime punishable by more than one year of incarceration, 

the sheriff of the permit holder's county of residence shall secure the 

possession and return of the gold card or enhanced permit forthwith. For any 

other disqualifying offense set forth above the sheriff of the permit holder's 
county of residence shall secure the possession and return of the gold card or 

enhanced permit as soon as reasonably possible after being notified of the 

holders ineligibility. A gold card or enhanced permit holder whose permit has 

been secured by law enforcement under this section may petition the circuit 

court for the return of the gold card or return of the gold card or enhanced 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-62&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-63&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-64&Type=Statute
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permit as soon as reasonably possible after being notified of the holders 

ineligibility. A gold card or enhanced permit holder whose permit has been 

secured by law enforcement under this section may petition the circuit court 

for the return of the gold card or enhanced permit if the permit holder believes 

the gold card or enhanced permit was unlawfully secured. Law enforcement 

may communicate with federally licensed firearms dealers relative to revoked 

gold card or enhanced permits.  

§ 23-7-65  Possession of revoked gold card or enhanced concealed pistol 

permit as misdemeanor. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone that is 

ineligible to possess a gold card or enhanced concealed pistol permit to 

possess or present a revoked gold card or enhanced concealed pistol permit.  

§ 23-7-66  Surrender to court of revoked gold card or enhanced concealed 

pistol permits. If any person is convicted of any offense which results in the 

automatic revocation of a gold card or enhanced permit to carry a concealed 

pistol under this chapter, the court entering the conviction shall require the 

surrender to the court of all gold card or enhanced concealed pistol permits 

held by the person convicted. The court shall forward all gold card and 

enhanced concealed pistol permits to the sheriff of the defendant’s county of 

residence.  

§ 23-7-67  Failure or refusal to surrender revoked gold card or enhanced 

permit as misdemeanor. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor for a person to fail or 

refuse to surrender to the county sheriff of the person's county of residence, 

upon lawful demand, a gold card or enhanced permit to carry a concealed 

pistol that has been revoked. If a person fails to return a gold card or enhanced 

permit to the sheriff of the person's county of residence after lawful demand, 

the sheriff shall direct a law enforcement officer to secure its possession and 

return in compliance with § 23-7-64. The law enforcement officer shall 

receive ten dollars and fifty cents plus mileage, at a rate established by the 

State Board of Finance, to be paid by the violator. Failure to pay the fee and 

mileage is a Class 2 misdemeanor.  

§ 23-7-68  National Instant Criminal Background Check of gold card or 

enhanced concealed pistol permit holders. Law enforcement may 

periodically perform a National Instant Criminal Background Check of gold 

card or enhanced concealed pistol permit holders for the purposes of 

determining whether the permit holder remains eligible for the permit under 

§ 23-7-7.1, 18 U.S.C. 922(g) as amended to October 26, 2005, and 18 U.S.C. 

922(n) as amended to October 26, 2005. 

§ 23-7-69  Notice to secretary of state of change of name or address--

Issuance of new permit. A person who has been issued a permit to carry a 

concealed pistol shall maintain current information on the permit by notifying 

the secretary of state in writing of a change in the person's name due to 

marriage or court order or of a change in physical address. If the revised 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-65&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-66&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-67&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-68&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=23-7-69&Type=Statute
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address is located within South Dakota, the secretary of state shall provide a 

new permit to the person. 

The county sheriff may issue a temporary permit or the secretary of state may 

issue an updated permit that reflects an address outside of South Dakota in the 

following instances: 

(1) For a South Dakota resident who is active duty military 

personnel, or the spouse of a person who is active duty 

military, with a home of record in South Dakota; or  

(2) For a South Dakota permit holder whose home is physically 

located in South Dakota but has an official postal address 

located within in a county in another state that shares a border 

with South Dakota. 

The fee for processing a replacement permit is two dollars and shall be used 

by the secretary of state to administer the concealed carry program. 

§ 25-10-24  Surrender of weapon or concealed pistol permit. The court 

may require the defendant to surrender any dangerous weapon or any 

concealed pistol permit issued under 23-7 in the defendant's possession to 

local law enforcement. 

Municipal, Township or 

County Government 

No municipal, township or county government in South Dakota may pass any 

ordinance that restricts possession, transportation, sale, transfer, ownership, 

manufacture, or repair of firearms or ammunition or their components. (See 

SDCL § 9-19-20, § 8-5-13 and § 7-18A-36) 

 

 

 

 

Supervision of Students and Conduct of School 

Chapter 13-32 

§ 13-32-7. Possession of firearm or dangerous weapon on public 

elementary or secondary school premises or in vehicle or building as 

misdemeanor—Exceptions.  Any person, other than a law enforcement 

officer or school sentinel under § 13-64-1, who intentionally carries, 

possesses, stores, keeps, leaves, places, or puts into the possession of another 

https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=25-10-24&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=9-19-20&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=8-5-13&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=7-18a-36&Type=Statute
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/Codified_laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=13-32&Type=StatuteChapter
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person, any dangerous weapon, firearm, or air gun, whether or not the firearm 

or air gun is designed, adapted, used, or intended to be used primarily for 

imitative or noisemaking purposes, on or in any public elementary or 

secondary school premises, vehicle, or building, or on or in any premises, 

vehicle, or building used or leased for public elementary or secondary school 

functions, whether or not any person is endangered by any action under this 

section, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The provisions of this section do 

not apply to: 

(1) Use of a starting gun at an athletic event; 

(2) Any firearm or air gun at a: 

(a) Firing range 

(b) Gun show 

(c) Supervised school or session for training in the use 

of firearms; or 

(d) Ceremonial presence of unloaded weapons at color 

guard ceremonies; 

(3) Any nonpublic school; 

(4) Any church or other house of worship; or 

(5) Any nonpublic school located on the premises of a church or 

other house of worship.  

The Law Enforcement Officers 

Safety Act of 2004 

The Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) of 2004 amended the 

Federal criminal code to authorize qualified law enforcement officers or 

qualified retired law enforcement officers carrying the photographic 

identification issued by their governmental agency, notwithstanding any other 

provision of the law of any State or political subdivision thereof, to carry a 

concealed firearm.  

The federal law provides that such authorization shall not supersede State laws 

that: (1) permit private entities to prohibit the possession of concealed 

firearms on their property; or (2) prohibit the possession of firearms on State 

or local government property. The law also excludes from the definition of 

"firearm" any machine gun, firearm silencer, or destructive device.  

Click here to view the Enrolled Act. 

The LEOSA was amended in 2010 to extend the coverage to include law 

enforcement officers of Amtrak Police, Federal Reserve Police and law 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/112th-congress/house-bill/4310/text
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enforcement officers of the executive branch of the Federal Government, 

along with military law enforcement personnel. The aggregate years for 

retired officers was reduced from fifteen to ten.  

Click here to view the 2010 amendment.  

The LEOSA was further amended in 2013 to clarify the definition of 

“qualified active” and “qualified retired” law enforcement officer, along with 

the term “police officer”, expanding the powers of arrest requirement 

definition to include those who have or had the authority to “apprehend” 

suspects under the Uniform Code of Military Justice.  

Click here to view the 2013 amendment. 

National Parks 

For regulations on concealed carry within National Parks, please contact the 

National Park Service for up-to-date information. 

http://www.nps.gov/state/sd/index.htm  

Administrative Rules of South Dakota Provisions 

Chapter 02:01:17 

Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force Training Program 

Minimum Standards 

02:01:17:01 Minimum standards for use of force course. A person may 

attend the use of force course only if the person meets the following 

requirements:  

(1) Is currently certified as a National Rifle Association handgun 

instructor;  

(2) Has a valid South Dakota concealed weapons permit or is a 

current or retired law enforcement officer in good standing;  

(3) Has fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency; 

and  

(4) Is of good moral character.  

02:01:17:02 Submission of a use of force training application. An  

applicant to the use of force training course shall complete the use of force 

training course application provided by the law enforcement training office 
and return the application with two sets of the fingerprint cards required by 

subdivision 2:01:17:01(3). 

02:01:17:03 Filing of fingerprints. An applicant's fingerprints taken under 

subdivision 2:01:17:01(3) may be distributed to local, state, and national 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/111th-congress/senate-bill/1132/text
https://www.congress.gov/bill/112th-congress/house-bill/4310/text
https://www.nps.gov/state/sd/index.htm
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02%3a01%3a17
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:17:01
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:17:02
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:17:03
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fingerprint files to disclose if the applicant has a criminal record.  

02:01:17:04 Reapplication for use of force training course. An applicant 

who has failed to successfully complete the use of force training course, or 

has been dismissed from the program under §2:01:18:08, may reapply after 

one year.  

02:01:17:05 Expiration of training. The use of force training certificate of 

completion issued under § 2:01:18:01 expires on the last day of the twenty-

fourth calendar month on the certificate of completion.  

Chapter 02:01:18 

Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force 

Training Program 

02:01:18:01  Certificate of completion. Upon successful completion of the 

training course required by this chapter, the law enforcement training office 

shall issue a certificate indicating that the individual successfully completed 

the use of force training course.  

02:01:18:02  Approved training course. The use of force training course 

shall consist of a curriculum of at least eight hours of training and includes 

the following subject areas:  

(1) Use of force; and  

(2) Legal aspects.  

02:01:18:03  Successful completion of training course. An applicant, to 

successfully complete the use of force training course, must receive a passing 

score on all written and skills examinations administered in connection with 

the course. The executive secretary, at the direction of the commission, shall 

establish rules of internal management setting forth the passing score for each 

examination. The executive secretary shall, prior to the commencement of the 

training course, notify applicants of the level of performance that constitutes 

a passing score for each examination. An applicant may retake the 

examination within seven days of failing. An applicant may not take an 

examination more than twice. The executive secretary may, for cause, allow 

an applicant to retake an examination at other times.  

02:01:18:04  Time course is conducted. The use of force training course 

shall commence at the time the executive secretary deems appropriate, but at 

least once per year.  

02:01:18:05  Place of training. Unless otherwise stated by the executive 

secretary, the use of force training course is conducted at the criminal justice 

training center in Pierre, South Dakota.  

https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:17:04
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:17:05
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:01
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:02
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:03
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:04
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:05
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02:01:18:06  Training course fee. An applicant attending the use of force 

training course shall pay Law Enforcement Training a $150.00 fee.  

02:01:18:07  Discipline during training course. The executive secretary 

may enforce restrictions and rules of internal management as necessary to 

maintain the orderly instruction of individuals and efficient operation of the 

use of force training course. Individuals must comply with such restrictions 

and rules as set forth by the executive secretary in the basic training course 

student handbook, or such other specific directives as the executive secretary 

may issue.  

02:01:18:08  Dismissal. The executive secretary may dismiss, from the use 

of force training course, any person who violates any restrictions or rule 

established by the executive secretary to administer or maintain order during 

the training course.  

 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:06
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:07
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=02:01:18:08
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