Frequently Asked Questions

What do I do if I need to change my address?

Write a letter to the SOS office with name, DOB, old
address, new address, permit number and $2 (cash, check
or money order).

What do I do if I need to change my last name because
I recently got married?

Write a letter to the SOS office with name, DOB, address,
permit number and $2 (cash, check or money order).
What do I do if I lost my permit?

Write a letter to the SOS office with name, DOB, address, and
$2 (cash, check or money order)

Where do I go when it is time to renew my permit?

Go to your local sheriff’s office to reapply.

Does South Dakota issue non-resident permits?

No, but South Dakota does recognize all other states valid
concealed weapon permits.

How long does it take to obtain residency in the state?
30 days

Can I openly carry?

South Dakota is an open carry state.

Is there a limit to the amount of ammo I can carry?
Please call the Attorney General’s Office for clarification
(605) 773-3215

If I am pulled over, do I need to let law enforcement know
I have a concealed carry?

Please call the Attorney General’s Office for clarification
(605) 773-3215

How should I carry my concealed carry in my vehicle?
Refer to 32-20-6.6. or call the Attorney General’s Office
for clarification (605) 773-3215

How should I carry my concealed carry on my
motorcycle?

Refer to (32-20-6.6). or call the Attorney

General’s Office for clarification (605) 773-3215

Can I find out who has a concealed weapons permit?
No, it is a closed database.

Can I have both the regular concealed weapons
permit and the enhanced permit?

Yes, you may carry both types of permits.

What is the difference between a regular permit and an
enhanced permit?

The difference is the training and fingerprint background
check for the enhanced permit, along with the higher fee
and the color of the permit being blue.

Will out-of-state training courses be accepted for the
training requirement of the enhanced permit?

No, the South Dakota training course must be completed.

Regular/Enhanced Pistol Permit Counts
Fiscal year (July 1—June 30)
2016: 26,401 Regular/575 Enhanced Permits
2015: 20,902 Regular Permits
2014: 18,656 Regular Permits
2013: 26,863 Regular Permits
2012: 17,610 Regular Permits

Recognition of Other States Permits

The State of South Dakota recognizes any valid concealed
pistol permit issued to a nonresident of South Dakota
according to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue.
(SDCL 23-7-7.4)

Reciprocity and Recognition States
Where South Dakota Permits Are Recognized

Alabama Kentucky' Ohio*

Alaska' Louisiana Oklahoma
Arizona Maine* Pennsylvania
Arkansas Michigan' South Carolina®
Colorado’ Minnesota'? Tennessee'
Delaware® Mississippi Texas
Florida'? Missouri Utah'?
Georgia' Montana Virginia'
Idaho Nebraska'"? Vermont®
Indiana Nevada® West Virginia'
lowa North Carolina'  Wisconsin®?>
Kansas® North Dakota’ Wyoming'

1) Only South Dakota permits issued to those who are 21 years of
age or older are recognized.

2) Reciprocity includes non-resident permits.

3) Only South Dakota enhanced permits are recognized.

4) Denotes states where South Dakota permits are recognized
without reciprocity.

5) Only South Dakota gold card permits are recognized
(Effective January 1, 2017).

Concealed weapons permit holders are responsible for checking

with the proper authorities prior to carrying concealed weapons.
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http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=23-7-7.4
http://www.ago.state.al.us/ag_items.cfm?Issue=64
http://dps.alaska.gov/statewide/permitslicensing/concealedhandguns.aspx
http://www.azdps.gov/ccw
http://www.asp.state.ar.us/divisions/rs/rs_chl.html
http://www.cbi.state.co.us/ccw
http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html
http://dps.georgia.gov/00/article/0,2086,5635600_6640623_34375811,00.html
http://www.accessidaho.org/laws_rules/firearm.html
http://www.in.gov/isp
http://www.kentuckystatepolice.org/conceal.htm
http://www.lsp.org/handguns.html
http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses/weapons_permits.html
http://www.michigan.gov/ag/0,1607,7-164-17334_17362_22672---,00.html
http://www.dps.state.ms.us/
http://www.ago.mo.gov/
http://www.doj.mt.gov/enforcement/criminaljustice/concealedweapons.asp
http://www.ncdoj.com/law_enforcement/cle_handguns_reciprocity.jsp
http://www.ag.state.nd.us/BCI/CW/CW.htm
http://www.osbi.state.ok.us/
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/
http://www.state.tn.us/safety/handgunmain.htm
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/chlsindex.htm
http://bci.utah.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/gunrecep.cfm
http://attorneygeneral.state.wy.us/dci/CWP.html

Concealed Weapons Permit Information

An individual who wishes to carry a concealed pistol on
or about his person or in a vehicle must obtain a Permit to
Carry a Concealed Pistol (SDCL 22-14-9). A person
does not need a permit to own a pistol, keep it in his
home, business, or property, or visibly carry it.
(SDCL 22-14-11).

Carrying a concealed pistol without a permit is a class 1
misdemeanor punishable by one year imprisonment in a
county jail or one thousand dollars, fine, or both
(SDCL 22-14-9).

A Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol may be obtained
from the sheriff of the county which the applicant is a
resident (SDCL 23-7-7).

A permit is valid for five years, and the fee is $10.00
(SDCL 23-7-8.2). The fee for an enhanced permit is $100.

The applicant must complete a form called an Application
for a Temporary Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol. The
information  required for the permit includes:
the applicant's complete name, address, occupation, place
and date of birth, physical description, a statement that the
applicant has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or
been convicted of a felony or crime of violence, a sworn
statement that the information on the application is true

and correct, and the applicant's signature. (SDCL 23-7-8)

Providing false information or false evidence of identity in
applying for a permit to carry a concealed pistol is a Class
6 felony punishable by two years imprisonment in the state
penitentiary or a fine of two thousand dollars, or both.

Those considering carrying a firearm while riding a

motorcycle or off-road vehicle should review

(SDCL 32-20-6.6).
The applicant must meet the following requirements
(SDCL 23-7-7.1)
e [s eighteen years-of age or older;

e Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been
convicted of a felony or a crime of violence; Note:
"Crime of violence" is defined in (SDCL 22-1-2 (9))

State of South Dakota

e s not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition;

e Has no history of violence;

e Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger
to others" or a "danger to self" as defined in (SDCL 27A-1-1)
or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent;

e Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county
where the application is being made for at least thirty days
immediately preceding the date of the application;

e Has had no violations of chapter (23-7), firearms control,
(22-14), unlawful use of weapons, or (22-42), controlled
substances; marijuana, constituting a felony or misdemeanor
in the five years preceding the date of application or is not
currently charged under indictment or information for such
an offense;

e [s a citizen or legal resident of the United States; and
e [snot a fugitive from justice.

e The permit is valid throughout South Dakota except in any
licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage or
alcoholic beverage establishment that derives over one-half of
its total income from the sale of malt or alcoholic beverages
(SDCL 23-7-8.1); any county courthouse as defined in
(SDCL 22-14-22); or any elementary or secondary schools
(SDCL 13-27-7).

The permit is also valid in states in which South Dakota has
reciprocity agreements (SDCL 23-7-7.3). The permit is not
transferable from one person to another (SDCL 23-7-8.3).

Enhanced Permit Requirements

The application shall include: (1) The application for the optional
enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol; (2) A copy of the
applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity authorized
to receive such information, fora state, national, and international
criminal history background check; (3) An authorization to run a
fingerprint background check; (4) A separate payment of $43.25
for the cost of processing the fingerprint background check; (5)
A separate application fee of $100 for the optional permit to
carry a concealed pistol; and (6) Proof that the applicant has

successfully completed a qualifying handgun course.

Qualifying handgun course must include instruction in each of
the following:

e South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force;

e The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of
handguns;

e Self-defense principles; and

e Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight
rounds of ammunition by the student.

For questions on training and classes, please contact the South
Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation, (605) 773-3331.

Gold Card Permit Requirements
(Card does not go into effect until January 1, 2017)

The application shall include: (1) The application for the
optional gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol; (2) A copy
of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, and any governmental agency or entity
authorized to receive such information, fora state, national, and
international criminal history background check; (3) An
authorization to run a fingerprint background check; (4) A
separate payment of $43.25 for the cost of processing the
fingerprint background check; and (5) A separate application fee
of $70 for the optional permit to carry a concealed pistol.

Active Duty Military and Spouses

23-7-7.5. Any person who is active duty military, or the spouse

of a person who is active duty military, with a home of record in

South Dakota is considered to have met the provisions of

subdivision 23-7-7.1 (see inside for provisions)

e Spouses of military personnel who have permanent residency
in South Dakota but are posted elsewhere can apply for a
South Dakota permit that would give them permission to
carry a concealed weapon. The permit would be necessary if
they visited South Dakota and wanted to carry a firearm.

e The measure authorizes military spouses who move to South
Dakota from a different state to waive the 30-day wait period
requirement for residency.

e The permit would be recognized in all states that South
Dakota shares reciprocity.




