
Regular Permit Enhanced Permit Gold Card Permit 

South Dakota Concealed Carry Permits 

Requirements 
 Is eighteen years-of age or older; 

 Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been 

convicted of a felony or a crime of violence;  

 Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition; 

 Has no history of violence; 

 Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a 

"danger to others" or a "danger to self" or is not cur-

rently adjudged mentally incompetent; 

 Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county 

where the application is being made for at least thirty 

days immediately preceding the date of the application; 

 Has had no violations of chapter (23-7), firearms con-

trol, (22-14), unlawful use of weapons, or (22-42), con-

trolled substances; marijuana, constituting a felony or 

misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of 

application or is not currently charged under indictment 

or information for such an offense; 

 Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; and 

 Is not a fugitive from justice; 

 Completion of background investigation. 

 Application fee of $10.00. 

Benefits 
 Concealed Carry within South Dakota; 

 Probable recognition for Concealed Carry within 30 
Other States; 

 Recognition within 1 Other States, with potential for 
more; 

 Purchase exemption upon approval from ATF. 

Benefits 
 Concealed carry within South Dakota; 

 Recognition for concealed carry within 30 other states 
(same as the Regular Permit);  

 Additional recognition for concealed carry within 6 
more states;  

 Purchase exemption upon approval from ATF. 

Benefits 
 Concealed Carry within South Dakota;  

 Recognition for Concealed Carry within 30 Other States. 

Renewal 
 Every five years, with renewal fee of $10. 

Requirements 
 Same requirement as with the regular permit; 

 Completion of a FBI fingerprint background check,  

including fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing; 

 Authorization to conduct the fingerprint background 

check; 

 Application fee of $70; 

 Periodic NICS background checks to ensure continued 

eligibility. 

Requirements 
 Same requirement as with the regular permit; 

 Certification of completion of qualifying handgun 

course, which includes use of force training, basic  

concepts, self-defense principles and live fire training of 

at least 98 rounds. Cost of training not to exceed $150; 

 Completion of a FBI fingerprint background check 

including fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing; 

 Authorization to conduct the fingerprint background 

check; 

 Application fee of $100; 

 Periodic NICS background checks to ensure continued 

eligibility (starting after January 1, 2017). 

Renewal 
 Every five years, with renewal fee of $70; 

 Can renew 90 days prior to expiration; 

 Renewal includes FBI fingerprint background check with 
fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing. 

Renewal 
 Every five years, with renewal fee of $50 if renewed 

within 90 days prior and 30 days after expiration; 

 If renewed after 30 days following expiration, renewal 
fee is $100 and qualifying handgun course must be  
retaken; 

 Renewal includes FBI fingerprint background check with 
fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing. 

Gold Card Program does not begin 
until after January 1, 2017. 

500 copies made by the Secretary of State’s office at a cost of $0.03 each 


