Registration & Voting
Check your voter registration, precinct and polling place information with the
Voter Information Portal.
Registering to vote in South Dakota is a simple and easy
process. The following guidelines will help you get registered to vote.
|Voter Registration 1-2-3:
1. You may print the Voter Registration Form in Adobe Acrobat,
complete it, sign it and then send it to your county auditor,
download a registration form or, fill-out the on-line form, print and send:.
The deadline for registration is 15 days before any election. Your card
must be received by the auditor by this deadline if you are to vote in
the next election.
2. Information on downloading a free
3. County Auditors Addresses for mailing your
completed Voter Registration Forms.
You may register at the following locations:
*County auditor's office
*City finance office
*Driver's license station
*Public assistance agencies providing food stamps, TANF or WIC
*Department of Human Services offices which provide assistance to the
*Military recruitment offices
*Mail-in registration with cards from the county auditor's office or from
one of the links above
Agency Instructions and Forms
To register to vote in South Dakota, you must:
- Be a United States citizen
- Reside in South Dakota (residency
- Be at least 18 years old on or before the next election
- Not currently serving a sentence for a felony conviction which included
imprisonment, served or suspended, in an adult penitentiary system
(See additional felony information)
- Not be judged mentally incompetent by a court of law
You can use this form to:
- Register to vote in South Dakota
- Change your registration name or address
- Change your party affiliation
- The South Dakota Republican Primary is closed to only registered Republicans
- The South Dakota Democratic Primary is open to registered Democrats and Independents, but not Republicans.
- Complete the entire registration form by printing the requested
- If you are currently registered to vote, please also fill out the
cancellation on the bottom of the form.
- Return the form to the county auditor in your
county of residence.
- You will receive a notice from your county auditor that your
registration has been received. If you do not receive this notice within 15
days, please contact your county auditor.
- The deadline for registration is 15 days before any election. Your card
must be received by the auditor by this deadline if you are to vote in the
Registration Drive Instructions