Types of Concealed Carry Pistol Permits
Click on the permit type to expand information.
- Fee: $10 (SDCL 23-7-8.2)
- Duration: Five years from the date of issuance (SDCL 23-7-8.2)
- Requirements: (SDCL 23-7-7.1)
- Is eighteen years-of age or older;
- Has never pled guilty or nolo contendere or been convicted of a felony or a crime of violence, as defined in SDCL 22-1-2(9);
- Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition;
- Has no history of violence;
- Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger to others" or a "danger to self" as defined in SDCL 27A-1-1 or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent;
- Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the application is being made for at least thirty days immediately preceding the date of the application;
- Has no pending charges or previous violations of SDCL Chapters 23-7 - Firearms Control, 22-14 - Unlawful Use of Weapons, or 22-42 - Controlled Substances and Marijuana, that constitute a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of application;
- Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; and
- Is not a fugitive from justice.
- Renewal Process: (SDCL 23-7-8.11)
The holder of the regular permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the permit through the sheriff of the county where the holder resides for a period beginning 90 days before the permit expires. The holder shall pay a ten-dollar renewal fee and pass a background investigation, including a computer check of available online records and the National Instant Criminal Background Check, required under §23-7-7 prior to the renewal of the permit. The renewal fee shall be distributed as set forth in §23-7-8.2.
- Fee: (SDCL 23-7-53)
- A separate payment for the cost of processing the criminal background check and, if the sheriff takes the fingerprints, the sheriff shall secure the fingerprints at no additional charge to the applicant.
- Duration: (SDCL 23-7-55) An enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol is valid for five years and is only valid if carried with a government issued form of identification that includes a picture of the permit holder.
- Requirements: (SDCL 23-7-53)
Qualifying Handgun Course: (SDCL 23-7-58) A qualifying handgun course is any handgun course that is taught by a National Rifle Association certified instructor who also holds a current certificate of completion from the South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation on the use of force. The qualifying handgun course must include instruction in each of the following:
- Same as Regular Permit (SDCL 23-7-7.1), in addition;
- A copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the FBI, and any governmental agency or entity authorized to receive such information, for a state, national, and international criminal history background check;
- An authorization to run a fingerprint background check;
- Proof the applicant:
- has successfully completed a qualifying handgun course as defined in SDCL 23-7-58 within the preceding twelve months; or
- is a current or former South Dakota law enforcement officer that has, in the preceding twelve months, qualified or requalified on a certified shooting course administered by a firearms instructor approved by the Law Enforcement Officers Standards Commission.
Use of Force Course Instructors: (SDCL 23-7-59) The current listing of instructors can be found here.
Renewal Process: (SDCL 23-7-56)
- South Dakota law relating to firearms and the use of force;
- The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;
- Self-defense principles; and
- Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight rounds of ammunition by the student.
- A person who holds an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the permit through the sheriff of the county in which the person resides. The period for renewal begins one-hundred eighty days before the permit expires and ends thirty days after the permit expires.
- In order to renew an enhanced permit a person shall:
- Pay a renewal fee in the amount of $35;
- Pay the fee for a criminal background check;
- Pass a criminal background check and a National Instant Criminal Background Check; and
- Present proof that:
- During the period for renewal, as set forth in this section, the person:
- Successfully completed the live fire component of a qualifying handgun course defined in §23-7-58;
- Received instruction regarding the use of force standards; and
- Received instruction regarding relevant criminal statutory changes; or
- The person is a current or former law enforcement officer who, within the twelve-month period preceding the date of the expiration, qualified or requalified on a certified shooting course administered by a firearms instructor approved by the Law Enforcement Officers Standards Commission.
- If a person fails to renew an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol during the period set forth in this section, the permit is deemed to be invalid. In order to obtain an enhanced permit thereafter, the person shall submit an application and meet all requirements set forth in §23-7-53.
Restricted Enhanced Permit
- SDCL 23-7-54.2: Age requirement for enhanced permit--Temporary restricted enhanced permit for individuals age eighteen to twenty.
SDCL 23-7-54.3: New temporary restricted enhanced permit substituted for permit issued between July 1, 2015 and March 9, 2018. Any individual between eighteen and twenty years of age, inclusive, holding an enhanced concealed carry permit, issued between July 1, 2015, and March 9, 2018, shall be issued a new temporary restricted enhanced permit that designates the permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive.
SDCL 23-7-54.4: Request for unrestricted enhanced permit upon reaching age twenty-one. A person holding an unexpired restricted enhanced permit who has reached the age of twenty-one may submit a written request to the secretary of state for an unrestricted enhanced permit. The unrestricted enhanced permit shall be issued at no additional cost.
- Notwithstanding any other law, the age requirement for the enhanced permit is for twenty-one years of age or older.
- Any applicant between eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive, who meets the requirements of §23-7-53 and §23-7-54 and any other specified requirements and qualifications and upon the approval from the sheriff of the county where the applicant submitted the application shall be issued a temporary restricted enhanced permit that clearly designates the restricted enhanced permit is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive.
Gold Card Permit
- Same as Regular Permit (SDCL 23-7-7.1), in addition to;
- Contact your county sheriff to have your fingerprints taken. The fee is $43.25 payable to: SD Department of Criminial Investigation.
- A person who holds a gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol may renew the permit through the sheriff of the county in which the person resides.he period for renewal begins 180 days before the permit expires and ends 30 days after the permit expires.
- In order to renew a gold card permit, a person shall:
- Pay a $40 renewal fee; and
- Pass a criminal background check and a National Instant Criminal Background Check.