A summary of South Dakota State Government

Constitutional Offices

South Dakota's Constitution provides for constitutional officers which are the attorney general, secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, and commissioner of school and public lands who hold their office for a term of four years.  These officials are limited to two consecutive terms.  These offices provide important functions of state government such as legal representation, official filing duties, election administration, processing of state payments, receipt of payments to the state, and administering school and public lands. These duties are separate from the legislative, executive and judicial branches.

Statutory Offices

Three public utilities commissioners are elected for six-year terms on a staggered basis. There are no term limits for public utilities commission  members.