MENU

Steve Barnett

     Select a box and SCROLL DOWN


Concealed Carry Pistol Permits

A Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol may be obtained or renewed from the sheriff of the county which the applicant is a resident. South Dakota residents and nonresidents who may lawfully possess a pistol are not required to have a permit in order to carry a concealed pistol in the state. (SDCL 23-7-7).

Sample Pistol Permit Front & Back

Duration of permit and fees

Three types of permits are available in South Dakota - a regular permit, a gold card permit and an enhanced permit. You can find information about all three permits here.

All three permits are valid for five years. The enhanced permit is only valid when is it carried with a government issued form of identification that includes a picture of the permit holder (SDCL 23-7-8.2, SDCL 23-7-55).

The fee for the regular permit is $10.00 (SDCL 23-7-8.2). The fee for the gold card permit is $40 (SDCL 23-7-60). The fee for the enhanced permit is $60 (SDCL 23-7-53).

Renewing a permit:
All permits are renewed through the sheriff of the county where the permit holder resides.

  • An enhanced permit may be renewed beginning 180 days before the permit expires and ending 30 days after expiration of the permit, if the holder pays the $35 renewal fee and passes a fingerprint background check and National Instant Criminal Background Check pursuant to SDCL 23-7-54 and presents proof that they have completed the renewal handgun course within the renewal period (SDCL 23-7-56).
  • A gold card permit may be renewed beginning 180 days before the permit expires and ending 30 days after expiration of the permit, if the holder pays the renewal fee of $40 and passes both a fingerprint background check and National Instant Criminal Background Check (SDCL 23-7-62).
  • A regular permit may be renewed beginning 90 days prior to the expiration of the permit, if the holder pays the ten dollar renewal fee and passes both a fingerprint background check and National Instant Criminal Background Check (SDCL 23-7-8.11).

As per SDCL 23-7-8.13, individuals possessing a permit issued in accordance with chapter 23-7 have a 30-day grace period to renew the permit. During the grace period the permit holder may continue to carry a concealed pistol without violating SDCL 22-14-9; however, law enforcement may issue a warning ticket in this situation to notify the permit holder of the expired status. This grace period does not apply to any permit holder who commits a crime that would make it unlawful for the permit holder to possess a gun, or a permit holder who attempted to renew the holder's permit, but was denied (SDCL 23-7-8.14).


Exceptions for carrying concealed

Concealed carry of a permit is valid throughout South Dakota, except in any licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverage establishment that derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of malt or alcoholic beverages (SDCL 23-7-8.1); any county courthouse or state capitol as defined in SDCL 22-14-22; or any elementary or secondary schools (SDCL 13-32-7). The permit is not transferable from one person to another (SDCL 23-7-8.3).


Requirement for carrying concealed in state capitol (SDCL 22-14-24)

  • The person possessing the concealed pistol holds an enhanced permit issued in accordance with SDCL 23-7-53;
  • At least twenty-four hours prior to initially entering the state capitol with a concealed pistol, the person notifies the superintendent of the Division of Highway Patrol, orally or in writing, that the person intends to possess a concealed pistol in the state capitol;
  • The required notification:
    • Includes the date on which, or the range of dates during, which the person intends to possess a concealed pistol in the state capitol, provided the range of dates may not extend beyond December 31st of each year; and
    • May be renewed, as necessary and without limit.

Regulations for concealed carry within National Parks

For regulation on concealed carry within national parks, please contact the National Park Service for up-to-date information: http://www.nps.gov/state/sd/index.htm.