MENU

SHANTEL KREBS

     Select a box and SCROLL DOWN


Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Pistol Permits

Click on the question to see the answer.

1. What do I do if I need to change my address on my pistol permit?

Write a letter to the SOS office with your name, date of birth, old address, new address, permit number and $2 (cash, check or money order).
Send to:
Secretary of State
Attn: Permits
500 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
(605)773-3537

2. What do I do if I need to change my last name because I recently got married?

Write a letter to the SOS office with your OLD name, your NEW name, date of birth, address, permit number and $2 (cash, check or money order).
Send to:
Secretary of State
Attn: Permits
500 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
(605)773-3537

3. What do I do if I lost my permit?

Write a letter to the SOS office with your name, date of birth, address, and $2 (cash, check or money order).
Send to:
Secretary of State
Attn: Permits
500 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
(605)773-3537

4. Where do I go when it is time to renew my permit?

Go to your local sheriff's office to reapply. You may find information on which sheriff to contact by going to the South Dakota Sheriff's Office Association Website.

5. How soon can I renew my permit?

You may renew your permit up to 90 days before the expiration date. Go to your local sheriff's office to reapply. You may find information on which sheriff to contact by going to the South Dakota Sheriff's Office Association Website.

6. Does South Dakota issue non-resident permits?

No, but South Dakota does recognize all other states' valid concealed weapon permits.

7. How long does it take to obtain residency in the state to obtain a pistol permit?

30 days.

8. Can I openly carry?

South Dakota is an open carry state without a permit. The Pistol Permit page of the Secretary of State's website has a map that shows which states you may openly carry with or without a permit, as well as the states you may not openly carry.

9. Is there a limit to the amount of ammo I can carry?

Please call the Attorney General's Office for clarification at (605) 773-3215.

10. Can I carry a concealed carry on my motorcycle?

Pursuant to SDCL 32-20-6.6, a person may carry a concealed pistol on a motorcycle if they are in possession of a valid concealed carry permit. Otherwise, the firearm must be unloaded and cased.

11. If I am pulled over, do I need to let law enforcement know I have a concealed carry?

Please call the Attorney General's Office for clarification at (605) 773-3215.

12. How should I carry my concealed carry in my vehicle?

Refer to SDCL 32-20-6.6, or call the Attorney General's Office for clarification at (605) 773-3215.

13. How should I carry my concealed carry on my motorcycle?

Refer to SDCL 32-20-6.6, or call the Attorney General's Office for clarification at (605) 773-3215.

14. Can I find out who has a concealed weapons permit?

No, it is a closed database. (Only law enforcement is allowed to access information.)

15. Can I have a regular concealed weapons permit, the enhanced permit, and the gold card?

Yes, you may carry multiple types of permits.

16. What is the difference between a regular, gold card and enhanced permit?

Regular Permit

  • Concealed Carry within South Dakota.
  • Recognition for Concealed Carry within 31 Other States.
  • Regular permit has a green top banner.
  • Is eighteen years-of age or older.
  • Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a felony or a crime of violence.
  • Meets statutory requirements.
  • Application fee of $10.
  • Completion of background investigation, including a NICS check.

Gold Card Permit

  • Concealed carry within South Dakota.
  • Recognition for Concealed Carry within 32 states.
  • Purchase exemption.
  • Gold card permit has a gold top banner.
  • Is eighteen years-of age or older.
  • Meets same statutory requirements as with the regular permit.
  • Completion of a FBI fingerprint background check, including fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing.
  • Application fee of $70.
  • Periodic NICS background checks to ensure continued eligibility.

Enhanced Permit

  • Is twenty-one years of age or older.
  • Concealed carry within South Dakota;
  • Recognition for concealed carry within 38 other states.
  • Purchase exemption.
  • Enhanced permit has a navy blue top banner.
  • Meets same statutory requirements as with the regular permit.
  • Certification of completion of qualifying handgun course, which includes use of force training, basic concepts, self-defense principles and live fire training of at least 98 rounds. Cost of training not to exceed $150.
  • Completion of a FBI fingerprint background check, including fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing.
  • Application fee of $100.
  • Periodic NICS background checks to ensure continued eligibility.

Restricted Enhanced Permit

  • Is eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive.
  • Concealed carry within South Dakota;
  • Same requirements as for enhanced permit.
  • Recognition in 21 states.
  • Restricted enhanced permit has a navy blue top banner and a black bottom banner stating "Restricted 18 to 20 years old".

17. Will out-of-state training courses be accepted for the training requirement of the enhanced permit?

No, the South Dakota training course must be completed. For information regarding the training instructors or classes, please contact the Division of Criminal Investigation by clicking here or by calling (605)773-3331.

18. Who can I contact for more information on the enhanced courses?

For information regarding the training instructors or classes, please contact the Division of Criminal Investigation by clicking here or by calling (605)773-3331.

19. What is the difference between Reciprocity and Recognition?

Reciprocity exists when there is a written agreement between two states to recognize each other's concealed carry permits. Some states, such as South Dakota recognize other states' permits without a formal agreement. State statutes typically allow for this recognition without an agreement.

20. Which states recognize South Dakota permits?

The Pistol Permit page of the Secretary of State's website has a map available that shows which states South Dakota permits are valid through reciprocity and recognition. As of September 2018, 31 states recognize the regular permit and 38 states recognize the enhanced permit. Delaware, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, South Carolina, Washington, and Wisconsin are the additional states for the enhanced permit. Wisconsin also recognizes the gold card permit. Please refer to the Summary of States for additional information regarding the states recognizing only holders that are 21 years of age and older.