Contact Us - Business Filings Division
Office Hours: 8am to 5pm Central Time
Phone: (605) 773-4845
Fax: (605) 773-4550
Secretary of State
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070
215 E. Prospect Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
What is a registered agent?
a. A registered agent must be a resident of South Dakota, with a SD physical and mailing address.
b. A registered agent may also be a commercial registered agent
For more information concerning South Dakota's Registered Agent statutes, see South Dakota Codified Law Chapter 59-11
Do you have online filing to start an LLC or Corporation?
Effective November 14th, 2016 online filing will be available for LLC Formations. Corporate Formations will be available in the near future. Online LLC formations can be filed here.
**Reminder: Effective July 1st 2016, LLCs filed via paper with our office incur an additional $15 paper processing fee.
How do I register to do business in South Dakota as a new business?
We would suggest that you visit with legal counsel and/or an accountant to determine the best way to file your business.
What is your turn around time for new filings?
On average, new paper filings are processed within 3-5 business days.
**Reminder: LLCs may be filed online. Effective July 1st 2016, LLCs filed via paper with our office incur an additional $15 paper processing fee.
As a corporation from another state, do I need to register with the Secretary of State's office in order to conduct business in South Dakota? If so, how can I register?
We would suggest that you visit with legal counsel to determine your filing requirements. Forms for filing with the SD Secretary of State can be found at this link.
Do I have to file an Annual Report?
Yes, annual reports are due EVERY YEAR on the anniversary date of when the business was filed with the Secretary of State's office. Annual Reports can be filed here.
What happens if I don't file an Annual Report?
The entity will become delinquent and will incur additional late fees. If the entity continues to stay in a delinquent status, it may be Administratively Dissolved.
Are there late fees for delinquent Annual Reports?
Effective July 1st 2016, Annual Reports filed after their delinquency date will incur a $50 late fee.
(Nonprofit corporations are exempt from the additional late fee, but are still required to file Annual Reports.)
Can I get a paper copy to file my Annual Report; I don't do credit cards online.
Yes, paper copies are available on our website at this link.
**Reminder: Effective July 1st 2016, Annual Reports filed via paper with our office incur an additional $15 paper processing fee.